Keeping up with the neighborhood…

Yesterday morning, with the first snowflakes kicking around, I walked up the hill to our neighbor’s field, where they want to build a machine shed for their farm equipment.  As neighbors with contiguous land here in ye olde town of Perry, we have to agree – or at least not object.  Although I have no problem with them storing all their stuff somewhere, I won’t be happy when another building looms on the horizon.  In the top photo, the crowd of people standing by the grain bin is the proposed site.  On the top right, you can see the roofline of their house over the corn.  In the bottom photo, you see how the building is going to block the view as we’re coming down the road as well.  (The little orange flags mark the spot.)  *sigh*  I’m still not going to block it, though, because someday I might want to build something…. get it?  And we’ve had conflicts before, with other neighbors, and it could get ugly.  So we’re just going to grin and bear it, or whatever the opposite of “grin” is.   It’s getting colder, and tonight it was dark long before dinner, thanks to the time change.  But I made a warm soup, inspired by Claudia’s facebook post, with the last of our greens.  No photo, but for dessert I did take one.  My partner had given me a pineapple and it was getting more and more overripe…. I had to do something with it, so I decided on pineapple upside-down cake.  Don’t ask me why.  I couldn’t find a recipe I liked so I just gluten-free-ized good old Aunt Zelda’s Fruitcake recipe, using part coconut flour and some coconut milk, and made it upside down!  It was, if I do say so myself, amazing.  AND we had leftover ice cream from last week when I tested a recipe, so it was really a special treat.   Finally, my Jack O’Lantern is still grinning, although at some point it will probably freeze and turn to mush.  Goodbye October!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Keeping up with the neighborhood…

  1. Kailah says:

    your jack-o-lantern has no teeth. Also I personally think you should oppose the damn new building. ALSO that pineapple upside down cake looks delicious. Maybe we can eat delicious things too when I come home?

  2. Andrea says:

    You’re taking down buildings and the neighbor is putting them up. The cycle of country life?
    Pretty soon your top photo will make sense again. :D
    You should share your recipes when they turn out — I just bought a bag of frozen pineapple on a whim, but have no plans for it. An upside-down cake would be nice.

  3. Anty says:

    Claire I don’t see people or corn or whatever in the top foto. Is that foto somewhere else. It’s really too bad about the view.

Leave a Reply

