Sjolinds is my new bff

I’ve been sick for four days and it’s pretty annoying, especially as I went to the doctor today to be told “it’s a virus.”  Translation: “You’ll get better at some point.”   Although I knew that most of my students had been sick on and off in the last few weeks, most with strep, I hadn’t been sick in years and was feeling fairly impenetrable to germs.  Ah, pride goeth before a fall, I guess…

So in between dropping Roya off at school and my 9:15 doctor’s appointment, I decided to look for some hot chocolate in Mt. Horeb.  There used to be two reliable places: The Sugar River  Coffeehouse (now defunct and not yet reopened as the Summer Houses) and The Blue Sky Cafe (now reverted back to Schubert’s Cafe and Bakery).  I decided to try Schubert’s, but when I asked for soy milk, Jerry Schubert repeated it back to me questioningly, as if it were words he had never pronounced before and weren’t sure what they meant.  So I thanked him politely and left.  The next stop was Sjolinds Chocolate House, what Claudia calls “The Cake Shop.”   I had never been there before but everyone says it’s great.  To my disappointment, there was no soy hot chocolate on their extensive menu, and I was resigned to ordering a cup of tea, but still decided to give it a try…. and when I asked, they did have it!  I had the best dark-chocolate hot chocolate of my life, I think, and will definitely go back again.  So should you.

So we’ve had a lot of beets to use lately.  On Friday night I made roasted beets, and they came out really well.  Papa loves beets, and he loves roasted vegetables, so this was a great way to use them.  Here is the recipe I used, adapted from Cooking Light.

Roasted Beets

12 beets, peeled and halved or quartered

2-3 tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon black pepper

2 tablespoons balsamic dressing or balsamic vinaigrette


Preheat oven to 425° F.

Place the beets on a large baking pan and toss with the oil, dressing, and salt and pepper.

Transfer to the oven and roast until tender and browned, about 1-1/2 hours.

Yep!  It was easy! And good….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sjolinds is my new bff

  1. talking2alex says:

    yum
    Both the hot chocolate and the beets sound delicious. Next time I am at “the cake shop” I think I will get hot chocolate instead!

  2. wei_k says:

    I think it’s cute you called Sjolinds your bff. ;-P
    I concur, it’s a classy joint.
    Making beets sounds like way more work than I have time/energy for now. But delicious otherwise.

Leave a Reply

