Lentil Loaf, eventually

Yesterday I decided to use the slow-cooker to make split pea soup, forgetting that “slow” is the operative word in this case.  Although I began at 11:00, it took hours before the thing even boiled, and by 5:00 I realized that there was no way we were eating split pea soup for dinner.  (Next time I’ll start it the night before, or boil the water first, or something.) 

So … I took out an eggplant that was getting soft, so I could make Barbequed Lentils and Eggplant from Nikki and David Goldbeck’s Wholefoods Cuisine cookbook.  I set the lentils to cook while I prepared the other ingredients.  At last, when I chopped open the eggplant, it was all brown and gross on the inside!  So now I had one cup of lentils, cooked, and no dinner.  I looked through all my cookbooks for something that wasn’t soup (eventually, we’re going to have a LOT of pea soup), and found a recipe for Lentil Rice Loaf in Easy Vegan Cooking by Leah Leneman, a cookbook that Roya once bought for Papa (she was probably attracted to the chocolate cake on the cover).  I have never had the best of luck with this cookbook, but I’m ever hopeful.  Aside from the cooked lentils, we needed brown rice already cooked, which we didn’t have time to cook, so I substituted whole wheat couscous.  Also, in the nut loaf that Papa likes, tomatoes are an ingredient, so I added them to this (canned, stewed), and then spread a layer of stewed tomatoes across the top for looks.  In the end, we had a delicious loaf/casserole… except that by 7:00 it still wasn’t done, so we made some really fast grilled cheese sandwiches.  I don’t really like any kind of soy, hemp, nut, etc. cheese, but Tofutti Better-Than-Cream-Cheese makes awesomely delicious sandwiches grilled with tomato and mustard.  Try it.

Lentil Loaf

1 cup lentils, cooked in 2 cups water
1 cup whole wheat couscous, made with 1 cup of water and 1 tsp. of vegetable broth                             pwd.
1 medium onion, chopped small
1 TBS vegetable oil
1 TBS whole wheat flour
1/4 cup soy milk
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (or ground coarsely in food processor)
1/2 tsp rubbed sage
1 28-oz can stewed tomatoes
salt and pepper to taste

  1. Roughly puree the cooked lentils with 1/3 cup of the stewed tomatoes.
  2. Sautee the onion in the oil.  When soft, stir in the flour, then slowly stir in the milk to make a roux.  I also added some liquid from the canned tomatoes.  In the end, I probably just made it too wet so it took longer to cook; adjust accordingly.
  3. Combine all ingredients except extra stewed tomatoes.
  4. Spread into a 9 x 13″ pan and top with stewed tomatoes. 
  5. Bake at 350 until it looks done…. this took almost an hour for us hungry people.

I saved about 1/4 cup of the tomatoes so I could try the Putney Special… still screwing up my courage 🙂

OH, and the pea soup was finally finished today.
Worth the wait!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lentil Loaf, eventually

  1. Anonymous says:

    Whew. That’s a lot of cooking for one night! Now, I suppose you’re set for the week. And the pea soup looks delicious as does the lentil loaf. Ken tried to make black bean soup in the slow cooker yesterday but at dinner time the beans were still crisp. He cooked it until 9:30 p.m. and he had some for lunch today, describing it as “more cooked.” I don’t think more cooked is the same as “cooked” without a qualifier. I think you should try the tofu and kale burritos from the blog. We made them for out-of-town company this weekend and they were a hit.
    Do you think the extremely chilly conditions of our kitchens affects the slow cooker?

    • wingraclaire says:

      Still cooking
      You’d think we’d be all set for the week, but this is a family of voracious eaters. The lentil loaf is gone, as is all the other food. I think the split peas were old (we’ve had tons of them for years); otherwise, I don’t know what the problem was. Today we made roasted potatoes to go with the last of the soup. And two kinds of cookies. And salad. Yesterday was spaghetti with Trader Joe’s Meatless Meatballs, something we have never done. (Never eat the fake meat stuff; this was just an experiment to see whether we liked it… it was OK.) I will try the kale burritos. There was also a recipe for eggplant tacos in Parade that I would also try. Stay warm!!!!

      • Anonymous says:

        Re: Still cooking
        Recently, (recently for us, anyway) I downsized the pantry, sold most of the gallon jars and installed smaller ones, and got rid of all the ancient split peas and such that seemed to take days to cook. Then Ken bought some new split yellow peas and they wouldn’t cook either! Go figure.

      • wingraclaire says:

        Re: Still cooking
        Go figure indeed! Maybe THOSE peas were sitting around the store for ages also, just waiting for you to buy them.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Brilliant text.
    favorited this one, guy

Leave a Reply

