More bread; still outrageously easy but slightly smaller

I really liked that “big bread” from last week, but was still bothered that it uses so much white flour.  Today I made it again using a cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of oats.  It turned out fine.  And of course I baked it at 400 because our oven doesn’t do 350.   The loaves turned out slightly smaller than last time, but I can live with it. It tasted great! 

I’ve been forgetting to mention that on Wednesday we celebrated “Pi Day” a little early in my classroom.  Thursday and Friday were conferences.  We made apple, lemon meringue, and pumpkin pies from scratch, including the crusts.  (Correction, we did use a can of plain pumpkin for that pie.)  There were gluten-free versions of each one, so it was quite a production… and quite a tasty one at that, even though I didn’t eat all of the pies.  They sure LOOKED good, and the buzz was all positive.   Pie Day was the culminating activity for our Food Around the World unit.  More on that another time.

Also forgetting to mention that we are sooooo sick of winter produce, we’ve starting making sprouts again.  They are delicious, especially in Papa’s patented PB & J with sprout sandwiches!
On the homemade Big Bread….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More bread; still outrageously easy but slightly smaller

  1. wei_k says:

    My goodness
    Three pies, all made completely from scratch, and with gluten-free variations? Sounds like an all-day production! Sounds tasty, too. πŸ™‚
    Here at Beloit we had no pie on Pi day (not even at Commons! I was surprised.) I didn’t make any, either.
    In the ‘house food’ cabinet at my house, what I’d thought was a container of lentils turned out to be full of sprouts. Those sprouts in the pic look tasty and non-winter-ish. I may have to try sprouting the sprouts.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Great Idea
    This looks great! You can’t go wrong with PB&J…and with sprouts you just add an extra nutritional punch! I def have to try that…maybe I can put sprout in my soynut roll-ups!
    Thanks for the tip! πŸ™‚
    Sangeeta
    The Veg Lounge

  3. Ever since I found that recipe, I’ve been in love with it. I have it memorised now, because I’ve made it so many times!

Leave a Reply

