So  Roya is back, and she brought the camera.
Here’s the old kitchen, beginning to look like a room.  It will be the “study,” “office,” whatever.
See this weird insulation?  It’s some kind of hardened foam.  I’m sure it’s better than fiberglass, but it makes the house smell like dead fish.  How long will
that last?
And the washing machine and dryer will go here.
The old bathroom will be a new bathroom.  See; we already have a shower, and the spot for the toilet.  I can’t believe I’m posting a picture of a hole where a toilet will go.

In other news, I have the dining room looking almost perfect.  Do you think I should move the litter boxes a little to the right?


So let’s go outside, where the snow is melting…..
 
We thought there would be a river, but surprisingly there is only a rivulet.

This driveway is hazardous for driving or walking.  We may never be out of mud season.

In the evening, I made Nut Loaf Deluxe from the Deaf Smith Cookbook. Easy to veganize because the only thing I had to change was the one egg.  I also tried making the Big Bread in a loaf pan so I could make a more uniform sandwich to take in lunches.  It seemed to work…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. wei_k says:

    I enjoyed this tour. 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Good use of the camera! It was really interesting seeing your house from this perspective. The first thought I had when I saw the “toilet hole” was of the places I’ve been where that WAS the toilet. ‘Nuff said on that count. When I made the big bread (which I’ve made four times since seeing it on your post) I found that making the dough slightly stiffer and kneading it a little in the bowl (You have to get your hands mucky anyway – might as well knead it) made a much more uniform loaf. The texture was still soft. The last time I made it I used four cups whole wheat to two cups unbleached. I also reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and may go down to two tablespoons to see what happens. We’re going to try making pizza from the dough tonight. I’ll probably use a pan instead of the stone since the dough is so soft.
    -Andrea Z

    • wingraclaire says:

      Cool
      It’s cool that you are still experimenting with this; so am I. This time I used more whole wheat flour, and also a cup of oats (you can probably see the oats). This evening I used the Vegan With A Vengeance pizza dough recipe just to try it out, and it was very good, although I used bread flour and I think it made the dough veeeeeery stiff! Tasted good, though. How was the pizza? And by the way, tonight I used your chocolate banana loaf recipe to make Lisa’s birthday cake. It’s in the oven right now!

Leave a Reply

