Finally something that tastes good

I bought this Veganrella
because it didn’t have trans fat like Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese, and I had already tried (and rejected) Tofutti cheese slices.  At first I was totally disgusted with it.  It tasted terrible in a sandwich or plain, and in a grilled cheese sandwich it tasted terrible AND also didn’t melt.  I gave it one  more try in this evening’s pizza…
“Before.”    Those are some crumbled tempeh bits on it, along with mushrooms and olives.

“After”
And whad’ya know?  At 400 degrees, it melted AND tasted good!

Then this evening, I made this chocolate banana cake for Lisa’s birthday tomorrow.  Andrea, I confess that I was too lazy/tired to melt the chocolate chips in a double boiler. 
I sprinkled them right on the hot cake, let them soften a bit, and then spread them around.
I think she’s going to love it.

Finally, any clean clothes I own are totally thanks to Claudia.  Thank you!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finally something that tastes good

  1. Anonymous says:

    I hope the cake was good. I feel kind of responsible! I didn’t use a double boiler either – just carefully melted them in a small pot. I like your method better. I’ll have to add it to the recipe.
    The pizza from the big bread recipe was really good but a lot softer than my usual crust, which is the thin crispy type. The recipe is so darn easy that I’m kind of obsessed with it. This latest batch was stiffer than before – the only difference was less oil so maybe I’ll go back to 1/4 cup. That seems like a lot, though.
    We’ve been using Follow Your Heart Vegan Gourmet mozzerella (something like that) and it tastes pretty good on pizza. It usually melts but if it doesn’t, you can put it under the broiler for a brief time. Haven’t tried grilled sandwiches and it’s a little weird raw. However, I put it in “big bread” sandwiches for our trip home from Seattle and it wasn’t too bad. Maybe we’ll try vegan-rella next.

Leave a Reply

