Memes and fads

Andrea says,

A meme seems to be sort of an Internet chain letter. I’ve mostly been a chain-breaker except for those “send a postcard to the name at the top of the list and you’ll soon receive hundreds of post cards” chain letters I always fell for when the kids were small. (STILL haven’t received those post cards!) But I recently got tagged by Ricki, who I really like even though I haven’t actually ever met her. So I’m going to do this, even though I only do this blog to write about food and food-related stuff. However, I’m only going to tag four others, not five. Sorry. I just don’t get around blog-land enough to know that many bloggers.

The meme Ricki tagged me with requires me to grab the book I’m currently reading, go to page 123, find the fifth sentence and copy out the next three. Why, I’m not sure.

And then she tagged me.  So here goes. 

I am reading Tanglewreck by Jeannette Winterson.  The reason I am reading it is that I recently read her Written on the Body and I think her writing is awesome and beautiful.  Tanglewreck is for kids and is in the Harry Potter-type genre, or maybe the Golden Compass, without being as good as either.  Even though you can hear Winterson’s “voice” in the writing, this book will not, I predict, stand the test of time.  Even so, it has its moments.

Here are the sentences from page 123:

“Sleep she may, but not today,” said Sniveller.
“What are you talking about?” asked Mrs. Rokabye, who longed to be alone with her kipper.
“She’s run away.”

And I’m supposed to tag three other people? 

I don’t even know three other people who blog…. well, I do know Andrea, Wei-K, and Talking2Alex.  So I can tag two of them, right?

You’re it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Memes and fads

  1. wei_k says:

    psst…. you need to tell us what the meme actually is so that we can do it.
    Is it: tell the book you’re reading right now, and some lines from p.123 of it?
    Also, that’s interesting about Tanglewreck. I’m reading Lighthouse Keeping right now by her, and like it alright.

  2. talking2alex says:

    ummm
    I guess you would call me a “chain breaker”! I have been for a very long time and I don’t want to spoil it so try and replace me, please? Sorry to be no fun. Can’t wait to hear about your graduation weekend!
    “I’m sorry – I can’t = Don’t hate me”(SATC) 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

