Makeshift dinner actually tastes good

So I don’t know why I made this meal today; I think it started with stuff I wanted to use up.  First I made polenta and then totally messed it up pan-frying it so I spread it out on the bottom of my baking dish instead and baked it for awhile until it was firm.   Then I sauteed an onion and added some chopped baked sweet potatoes and spices.  I made a layer of that on top of the polenta.  I think I was going for an enchilada theme that I saw on somebody’s blog, and for the life of me I can’t remember which one.  Anyway, then I sauteed more onion, added zucchini, anasazi beans (because that’s what I had in the freezer and wanted to use up), tomato sauce, and canned diced tomatoes with green chilies.  That went on top.  The two totally amazing facts are 1) It tasted good, AND 2) ROYA ate it and said it tasted good!!!
Yep, it was good….

Meanwhile, I spent a lot of time today trying to get rid of stuff other than food.  Roya is ready to part with all of her karate gear… I think these battered hand mitts with the mouthguard tell quite a story.  There was much blood, sweat and tears on the way to that black belt….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Makeshift dinner actually tastes good

  1. wei_k says:

    ah yes
    I often make these such kinds of meals. Including one that was layers of salsa, tortillas, beans, and polenta. Maybe that’s what you were thinking of when you made this and remembered “seeing” (hearing about) it somewhere?
    Anyway, looks like it tasted awesome–sure sounds good!

Leave a Reply

