Best Ice Cream, Ever!

When it comes to ice cream, I’m usually too cheap to buy some soy- or rice-based stuff that I know won’t taste like what I want, which is…. ice cream!  However, I was inspired the other day when it was super hot out and I had this really overripe banana, and I was listening to Zorba Paster On Your Health on WPR, and the recipe was Tofu Ice Cream courtesy of a vegan from Dodgeville!!!   So I had to try it, like, right away.  I had the silken tofu, although she said that it takes two little boxes of mori-nu and I had one of those and some from Trader Joe’s, but it was OK.  The only thing I didn’t have was stevia (which Marie says she grows in her garden!!!), so I added a little extra sugar.  Also, in addition to the vanilla I added some chocolate extract we have just because we have it, and so perhaps it would taste chocolate-ier?

Oh…. and the thing I REALLY didn’t have was an ice cream maker.  Um, no problem, I thought.  I had read that you could freeze the prepared stuff in a bowl and then take it out and mix it with your mixer every couple of hours until it is ice-creamy.  And that is what I did.

So, first I thought, if I’m going to get the mixer dirty anyway, why not use it to blend the stuff in the first place so I don’t have a dirty mixer and also a dirty food processor?  Keep in mind that it was really really hot out, in the high 80’s, and humid, and I didn’t want to work too hard for this…. but the tofu didn’t exactly whip up on demand.

It really did work much better in the food processor.  Then I put it back in the Tupperware bowl, stuck it in the freezer for two hours, and whipped it with the mixer until it was aerated and creamy, then put it back.  Repeated that twice, and then in the evening I did it one final time, and Papa and I sat down to a movie with the best ice cream, seriously, ever.  It was totally worth every minute I spent on it…. but with ice cream this good, maybe I should invest in an ice cream maker….?  Guess I could look at a yard sale:)

You know you want some!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Best Ice Cream, Ever!

  1. talking2alex says:

    Holy (not) cow!
    Your ice cream looks delicious! If you would like to use my electric ice cream machine you are welcome to do so. It would make it easier to make your ice cream, but your efforts looked well worth all of your work.On the other hand all that running to the kitchen and working on it may have negated the calories in the ice cream!

    • wingraclaire says:

      Re: Holy (not) cow!
      Actually, I think it’s lower-calorie than dairy ice cream, so that’s good. The sugar makes it not-so-healthy, but I can live with that:) Thanks for the ice cream machine offer. I just may take you up on it!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Okay, so, maybe you should invite us for dinner! That looks really good. We could just have ice cream. I got rid of my regular ice cream maker – too much trouble with the ice and salt – and found one that you keep in the freezer until you need it. It’s a small hand crank model from a garage sale (Donvier or something like that) that works great and is very easy. I just need a good recipe.

Leave a Reply

