A few months ago I bought a cheap bread machine, then was afraid to use it because I had bought a cheap bread machine and it might not work well… I had read reviews online, many of which contradicted each other.  Some people said it sucked, and others said that it worked great but the recipes in the accompanying booklet sucked.

I happened to read a line of postings on the Post Punk Kitchen Forums about bread machine recipes, and found one that worked so well I was  amazed and astounded.  I’m reposting it here; credit goes to Tami of Vegan Appetite. 

This is a basic white loaf adapted from Bread Machine Magic… originally Dede’s Buttermilk Break. It makes a nice loaf that’s easy to cut and stays moist.


1 1/2 pound loaf

1 1/8  to 1 1/4 cups soymilk
1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar (mix it into the milk, let clot)
1 1/2 tsp salt
3 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp Earth Balance margarine
3 cups bread flour
2 tsp active dry yeast

I used two cups of some white bread flour I had, and one cup seven-grain bread mix from Willy Street Coop. 
It didn’t fall in!
It tasted great!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. Anonymous says:

    That looks excellent. Did you bake it in the machine? Have you given up on the really easy big bread? in general, Bread Machine Magic (and More Bread Machine Magic) is full of recipes that work. You can often find it cheap in used book stores and it’s well worth having.

    • wingraclaire says:

      Baked in the pan
      Yes, I did bake it in the bread machine pan. I felt like I was boring everyone with the three photos I included and so didn’t post the other two (it’s rising in the pan! now it’s baking in the pan and not falling in!). I haven’t given up on the big bread but it’s been so hot here I’m trying to use my oven a lot less, like only when it’s cool. Also, to save energy and money I try to only bake when I can bake several things at once. For instance, bread, tofu, potatoes, and whatever else I have time to prepare.

  2. talking2alex says:

    Mmmmmm
    I bought some good ww flour just last week in thoughts of breathing life back into my breadmaker.You’ve inspired me, thanks.
    c

  3. wei_k says:

    yum!
    Let’s make some more, that looks delish. đŸ™‚
    And, I’m glad it worked well, esp. since you were worried about it!

    • Anonymous says:

      Re: yum!
      I’m so excited this worked for you! I’m always a little behind in blog surfing, but now that I’ve found yours, I’ll bookmark it.

Leave a Reply

