More fruits

     What we have now is a lot of broccoli and basil.  I’ve made pesto but people don’t want to eat it every day, and anyway it turns brown so quickly…. today I tried a recipe from Eat, Drink and Be Vegan by Dreena Burton.  She uses a lot of lemon juice in her recipe, and hey: it doesn’t turn brown!  It tastes different, but delicious-different.  You can download the recipe by following the link here.  I didn’t have cashews so I used almonds and sunflower seeds, which made it really creamy.
     The broccoli is great, and check out this mini-cabbage!  We planted them this year and they yield cute little one-meal-sized heads that are tender and succulent. 

     The pesto I made today went straight to the freezer for wintertime consumption.  For dinner, I sauteed tofu, then added minced red onion, garlic, zucchini, olives, basil, tomatoes, salt and pepper, and splashes of balsamic vinegar and vinaigrette dressing… we had it with leftover pasta from the LAST time I made pesto, and steamed broccoli on the side. Yum.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More fruits

  1. Anonymous says:

    That looks a lot like what we had for dinner last night but without the tofu and with LOTS of tomatoes. We had it over pasta, too. We used Trader Joe’s organic brown rice pasta like Taryn made for me in Seattle. It’s really good but Ken says it takes a long time to cook.

  2. wei_k says:

    I went to a “wet market” this afternoon to get some groceries. When you come visit, it’s one of those places you should definitely see! Lots of vegetable and fruit stands, along with wriggling things and cut-open fish heads. Among other things, I bought a gynormous carrot, and what looks to be a humungo slice of a zucchini or cucumber on steroids (~5+” across!).
    I was low on camera battery + time, but one of these days I want to go there and take a bunch of photos.

Leave a Reply

