Rosh Hashanah in Madison

Today it was cold and windy.  I went to Gates of Heaven for services.  The PRO is, of course, the service itself.  And the fact that you don’t have to buy tickets.  But the very big CON is how you have to start lining up two hours before the service so you can get a seat!  Here is the synagogue, and the whitecap-covered lake as seen from behind it.  You’d better believe it was cold waiting to get in!
 
After the service, I took a walk down State Street to eat lunch at the Union.  Library Mall was all torn up.  I couldn’t figure out what they were doing, although a lot of work seemed to be focused on exposing one large pipe.
 
At the Union I sat by a window to see the lake while I ate my peanut butter sandwich and wrote a letter.   Who knows how long it will take to get to China?

After lunch I bundled up (really.  with a hat. ) and took a walk on the Lakeshore Path.  As you can see, the trees on Picnic Point haven’t started turning yet.   Tomorrow is the first day of October.

Shana Tovah!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rosh Hashanah in Madison

  1. talking2alex says:

    today
    Your day sounded like a very nice one, apart from the cold and the white caps!
    Happy New Year!
    c

  2. wei_k says:

    It is wonderful to see pictures of Madison. And, wow! A hat!
    I just turned on the A/C b/c I was hot. Love you.

  3. wei_k says:

    I celebrated too
    I had people over on Monday night and we ate apples and honey. It was nice.

Leave a Reply

