It all started with a habanero pepper…..

Someone at work gave Papa some habanero peppers, and he’d like to use at least one of them so he can tell the guy how much he liked them.  The trouble is, we think one will be plenty.

I found a recipe I’m going to try, which calls for "chicken-style" seitan, so I made some seitan using this recipe and left out most of the spices (and all the tomato paste); instead, I made broth with vegetarian "chicken-flavored" broth powder to use as the water.  (Honestly, it’s been so long since I had chicken you couldn’t prove it by me!) 

I thought it tasted kind of bland, but the whole point of the recipe is that it’s going to soak up the sauce anyway. 

While I had the oven on, I made some tempeh cubes that I’ll use in stuffed peppers tomorrow.
I should just keep a stock photo of these things.  How often do I make them?

And also baked tofu, just because.
That’s tamari, sesame oil, canola oil, chili oil, and hoisin sauce.
Two pounds of tofu.
Saving for sandwiches.

For dinner, we had lots of garden things we needed to use.  Here’s the last Moosewood-inspired marinated fresh tomato/basil/garlic pasta sauce of the season, with soy cheese.

And we also had the last of the chard; no photo.
Oh, and more "big bread," which Papa likes more than bread-machine bread…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It all started with a habanero pepper…..

  1. wei_k says:

    I love the colors of the sauces in your tofu baking dish. Also… I should try and make the Moosewood tomato recipe! It looks so good. Do you know if it’s online anywhere? hmm….should have asked you to put that into the suitcase, too!

  2. Anonymous says:

    more tasty looking food
    that’s a lot of yummy food. Marinated tofu is my all time favorite use of tofu. can’t get enough.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

