Dangerous Dinner

This evening we ate the jerk seitan meal made with the habanero pepper.  Well, only half!  And I had heard that the more you chop the pepper the hotter it makes the food, so we floated the half-pepper in the sauce and removed it before eating.  Yeah, we are pretty skittish about something so potentially lethal….

I chose the recipe because it says to serve the sauce with "lots of rice and sauteed cabbage and carrots."   We do have cabbage, carrots, onions, broccoli and peppers from the garden, so I sauteed them for the meal. 

As you can see from my plate, I was a little hesitant to take much at first.  It was hot, all right, but still tasted good.  And now I know what "jerk" seasoning is…

By the way, the days are getting shorter and shorter here in the Western Hemisphere.  Yesterday evening I took a walk as the light was fading.

They are taking down the corn.
Was this really the best time to shave Muggs?
At least we all see the same moon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dangerous Dinner

  1. Anonymous says:

    looks good
    I love spicy food and this looks like it would fit the bill. I’ll bet the cabbage smoothed out the hotness.
    We’ve been getting some sun in seattle, with days of rain in between. Will the current pocket of sun be the last for this fall?

  2. wei_k says:

    Wow, the trees are turning color! And the corn is brown! I suddenly feel very…how shall we say… far away?

Leave a Reply

