Missing Autumn?


Today I went into Mount Horeb to do some errands.  I really wanted to take a walk, but it’s the first day of deer hunting season in Chronic Wasting Zone, and I didn’t want to risk it.  So instead I walked all over MH to do my errands.  It was only hard at the end when I walked the last ten minutes with a six-pack of beer, uphill!

The Welcome Center is all fall-ish


American chrysanthemums 🙂


On a porch

Can you see in the distance that gas at Kwik Trip is under $3.00?

This was at the cemetery

One of my errands was to get some "liquid smoke," whatever that really is, at Kalscheur’s (it contains "natural smoke flavor!") so I could make Andrea’s sausages.  I’ve been wanting to do that for awhile.  I made the second recipe, but with only half the red pepper flakes and no chipotle peppers and it was plenty spicy for me.
   
Yes, again with the garden carrots, onions, cabbage.  Maybe I also need new plates?  Every photo is looking the same!  It tasted good sauteed in olive oil, though, just like she said it would!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Missing Autumn?

  1. wei_k says:

    ooh, MH…
    Did I mention I feel like I’m in a time warp? The weather today was probably in the 80’s! At least it’s not humid anymore, and some days is a bit cooler out.
    Also, did I tell you that my “workshop” at the library this coming Wednesday (I only do one/semester) will be “Autumn Traditions in the U.S.”? I am suitably amused. I hope that I can make it be good, and that people will happen to come…

  2. Anonymous says:

    Lovely lovely photos!
    I’ve been after Liquid Smoke for the longest time ever.
    I’m doing a care package with someone and I know they’re including some. I SO can’t wait.

    • wingraclaire says:

      That’s funny about the liquid smoke. I stood in front of the display in my small town supermarket looking at the only two choices. One said “all natural and cost only $.99. Hmmmmm.. One had several ingredients including “natural smoke extracts” and cost twice as much, and it was the one I ended up buying. I can’t tell you whether it made a huge difference because I have NEVER used it before, but the sausages were really good. And I always read Vegan Dad, whose recipes often call for it. So now I have a whole bottle. Have fun with your care package! What things can you not get in Spain?

Leave a Reply

