Not Fair!

     This evening we went to dinner with Eli before he got on the bus to Kansas.    We went to Husnus on State Street, our old favorite.  Papa and I didn’t want a huge meal, so we each got "appetizers" with hummus, pita, tabouli and vegetables that seemed like a pretty good dinner to us!  We got home in time for me to take a walk….
That’s the "not fair" part – why should I be the one to dress in orange?

….and then, with no dinner to make, I finally tackled the big bag of apples that have been taking up room in my refrigerator ever since Claudia gave them to me.  
 
I added cinnamon, cloves, cardamom and a little brown sugar.

Yesterday we had a nice fall day around the house.   The leaves are mostly down…

  The maple tree, which last week was half green and half golden, is now half brown and half gone!

Spunky in the leaves.


And to use up more produce, I made our favorite, Armenian Lentil Soup from the New Recipes from the Moosewood Restaurant cookbook.  Is it ethical to post it?  Probably not…. but it’s so delicious…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not Fair!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Your apples and soup both look delicious!

  2. That soup does look GORGEOUS!!
    And Spunky’s sooo cute!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Do you think it’s okay to post a recipe if you credit the source and link to the book? Just asking, not expressing an opinion. I’ve done that on occasion with older books, not new ones. Maybe someone will buy the book after seeing the recipe. Is it kind of like a footnote? We should talk about this sometime. Maybe you can come for dinner. In two weeks?
    Kansas? Send me an e-mail about that!!!

    • wingraclaire says:

      That’s a good point about the recipe, although at this point most people I know probably wouldn’t go out and buy a cookbook that has lots of dairy in it, and even some fish (a new development for Moosewood cookbooks at the time). But who knows; maybe! Some people feel that if you change the recipe a little bit then you are making it your own, but I like to give credit where credit is due….
      Sure, I’d love to see you. We have been busy every weekend but that seems to be winding down.

  4. wei_k says:

    How autumnal!
    I’ve been meaning to make apple sauce, too! Though you beat me to it. 🙂 Yours looks delicious.
    It looks like it’s cold outside while you’re walking, these days?? I hope not too many people are hunting on our little road this year! It’s always so unnerving to hear the gunshots, and to know it’s the season…especially as an unenthusiastic bystander. At least Spunky looks unphased. 🙂
    I’ve also been meaning to make lentil soup. I haven’t figured out yet where to buy lentils, though. I bought some (or split peas?? it was ambiguous) at a local stall, but then the bag had bugs in it! It was gross. I think if I go to a few of the more upscale or foreign-focused supermarkets I should be able to buy some.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I haven’t made most of the recipes from the original Moosewood that my friend Beth gave me YEARS ago! What do you do with those apples? Are they canned with water and all that, or do you freeze them, or what DO you do with them when you eat them? I assume you cook them first? Luv, anty

    • wingraclaire says:

      Actually I am going to freeze the applesauce. It wasn’t enough to can. The original Moosewood is one of our favorite cookbooks; unfortunately, it’s packed away in the garage waiting for the remodeling to be finished. So last week I took a copy out of the library. It had been updated so that many of the original recipes were lower-fat. Alan made some hummus; picture to follow!

  6. Anonymous says:

    that is so funny how the tree is 1/2 without leaves. your cat is so cute!!!
    the soup looks good and I’m totally eyeing the applesauce. yummy!
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

