Stuffed Peppers

Tonight we ate leftovers, so here’s something I made two weeks ago when we were pulling in any miniature, straggly plant we had from the garden in advance of the frost.  We had a lot of little-ish peppers, and I’d had a hankering for stuffed peppers.  These were too small, and also too misshapen to cut off the tops and fill.  So I cut them from top to bottom and laid them on their sides.   I looked at a lot of stuffed pepper recipes and they all seemed to involve tomato sauce, which I didn’t feel like using.  So I went with anything else that sounded good.  I started by sauteeing garden onions, peppers, chard stems, garlic and zucchini (not pictured).  Then I added wild rice and tempeh croutons.  It was all waaaaay too much for the little pepper halves, and they wouldn’t balance in the casserole dish, so I ended up making a nest of the extra filling and nestling the peppers into it.  I topped them with a little soy cheese for me on some and some feta on the rest for Papa.  Aware that without tomato sauce the whole thing could get too dry as it baked, I made some broth and poured it over the pan.  Then I covered it with foil and baked it. 

It was one of those days when, because I was using the oven, I wanted to get as much out of it as I possibly could.  So I also made Kailah’s banana muffins (the decrepit recipe pictured here), and some "big bread."  It was a time when we still had garden broccoli, so here’s one balanced meal!
  
We used a "steak knife" to cut the peppers, which were still a little tough…

By the way, I know that people are starving in India, and Africa, and etc. and I don’t take that lightly.  I know I live in a country of plenty, even when I shudder to think of my retirement fund shrinking to the size of bus fare.  Look at the way I blather on about food!  Even so, I’ve been self-centered enough to be seriously annoyed  at living in a bunch of half-finished for lo, these many months.  On Saturday, the carpenter guys, serious artistes who can’t be rushed, dropped by with the doors and cabinet fronts for the "office."  They look wonderful, just as we thought they would…. and now the room is more real…. and the bathroom is more usable, too.   Do we really deserve to live this well?



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Stuffed Peppers

  1. wei_k says:

    Wow, those peppers + tempeh look incredible! And, that “steak” knife is the one I bought for $1 at Ace, in Beloit. 🙂
    Props for photo-ing said decrepit recipe. It rocks. And especially b/c it’s decrepit… and oh so simple.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Food looks awesome! When I know I’m going to be using the oven, I buy yams to roast at the same time.
    Love the view out of your new window! very nice.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

  3. Anonymous says:

    love the painting!
    and love stuffed peppers too!
    i graduated from cranston too!! (west)!

Leave a Reply

