Lunch not-meat

Lately I’ve been making seitan once a week.  For one thing, it’s an easy filling for sandwiches, which are dinner at least weekly.  For another, Papa seems to love it.  To me, it seems a little too "meaty," and I’ve done without that texture for so long I really don’t care one way or the other.  I notice that when we eat more seitan we eat less bean-based, nut-based or tofu-based meals, which have been our staple for over 25 years.   Still, I guess some things go in phases.  This past weekend I made the stock recipe, ppk forum’s Seitan o’Greatness, and substituted chickpea flour for the nutritional yeast, something Isa had posted about recently.  I really like the texture, and the flavor is still great.  (And spicy.)  So this evening we had sandwiches with the last garden tomato that was any good at all, the seitan, sauerkraut, russian dressing and some really good bread.  Add canned soup and even a long, cold day can have a happy ending.  It’s not that I got home late, but these days if there is any light left, I try to take a walk.  By the time I get back, it’s already dinnertime, except that nobody has cooked it yet. Where are the elves when I need them?  And then when we sit down to eat…. well, we’re hungry.  So the photographers are too late.   Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my closeup!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lunch not-meat

  1. Anonymous says:

    I fixed the mac & cheeze link. here it is: http://vegnews.com/web/articles/page.do?pageId=40&catId=10
    taking a walk before or after dinner is a really good idea. we used to take a long walk through the woods at night after thanksgiving dinner when I was little. really fun.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

  2. wei_k says:

    Ah yes, more seitan = less bean-/etc.-based meals and protein. My concern with seitan is that then it’s a lot of wheat to consume.
    Vegetarian reubens on really good bread sound, well, really good!
    I miss taking walks with you. In HK the air had been so bad I didn’t feel like I could (or wanted to) take walks really. Here in Okubo (Johnna’s town), the air is so clean! And it’s cooler here, too.
    And, what is your final quote from? It’s so familiar!

    • wingraclaire says:

      It’s been a long time since I saw Sunset Boulevard, but I think my quote is loosely based on that movie. Of course, it’s been quoted and re-quoted over and over!!!

Leave a Reply

