Free apples

I picked up as many windfalls as I could from the one tree that had apples this year, and made apple crisp… then served it with some vanilla Soy Delicious on top!

For dinner we continued our reunion with the Moosewood Cookbook by making Gypsy Soup.  It was full of substitutions for things we didn’t have…. we still have carrots, onions, and cabbage from the garden, so that’s what went in.  It still tasted great.

We also made the easiest garlic bread ever, using an idea from Dreena Burton.  It just needs some advance planning.  Take slices of bread (I had just made more big bread last night) and put them in the freezer.  I laid some on a cookie sheet.  Just before you want to use them, take them out of the freezer and rub them with cut halves of garlic cloves.  If the bread is frozen enough it will act like a grater and break down the garlic.  Then spread them with a little Earth Balance and put them in the oven.  I was baking the apple crisp, and more seitan, so it was easy to do.  Thanks, Dreena!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Free apples

  1. wei_k says:

    Your cooking is so inspiring! All those things sound delicious. 🙂
    I’ve been eating well here… more details later.

  2. Anonymous says:

    fresh crisp with ice cream, yum! I haven’t made crisp in forever.
    Gypsy soup looks great. Thanks for reminding me of the garlic bread tip from Dreena. I read about it on her blog, but totally forgot it (I’m good that way).
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

