Dinner for one

Last night Papa went to a hockey game, so I came home in the dark to an empty house…. a scary house, because it was a house without leftovers!  It was snowing and I felt as if I were coming down with a cold.  All I wanted was soup, but I didn’t want to work for it.  So I got out the Seaweed Soup, but of course I couldn’t leave well enough alone…. and so I added lots of garlic, a few cold soba noodles (ok, I forgot about those leftovers…), garbanzo beans and broccoli.  Pretty soon it was like stone soup, and made a great meal.

It was snowing enough to coat the deck, and snowed all night.  Lightly, though, because there wasn’t that much this morning.  Still, I guess it counts as our "first snow."

For dinner this evening we had sauteed garden stuff (except for the pepper) + seitan over mashed potato, sweet potato, roasted garlic and celery root.  (It was a small portion because I still wasn’t feeling well.)

Then we went to see Mt. Horeb High School’s production of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat.   I have to say that it was the best show they have EVER done; we were blown away by the quality.  They were absolutely fabulous.  Too bad Roya wasn’t there to see it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dinner for one

  1. Anonymous says:

    Instant seaweed soup? Where do you get that? Does it have a lot of sodium? We had soup last night too, made from the stock left over from making pierogi. I was feeling like a pierogi myself, and not up to an actual meal.
    No snow here. Weird. Glad the musical was so great. We used to attend the musicals at West, even after the kids graduated, but we’re kind of out of the loop now.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I hope you feel better!
    The instant seaweed soup looks really good, I’ll have to track some of it down when I get my winter cold (not that I want a cold). Would be a good change from canned or dixie’s diner chicken not and dumplings mix. Good idea to add all the extra goodies – I’m never that smart 🙂
    Ugh, first snow. I hope the seattle area doesn’t get one – we’re not supposed to, but we get more and more every year thanks to global warming (climate change).
    Love the mashed medly, sounds great. I mixed yams and mashed potatoes to cover part of the shepherdess pie I made recently. Very yummy.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com

  3. Anonymous says:

    Hey, I’m tagging you for a meme of sorts. It’s cool because you list random facts about yourself. That’s it 🙂
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/2008/11/7-random-factoids-about-me-that-you.html

  4. wei_k says:

    That looks tasty! But, I hope you feel are feeling better. :-/
    I think I saw some of that seaweed soup (ha, sand) at a department store nearby. I like that soup, so maybe now that the weather’s getting slightly cooler here it would be good to make /eat. And you know me and my cooking, I can “never leave well enough alone” either, and would have added probably similar things to it. 🙂
    Also, it’s cool you went to see the musical. I’m glad it was so good!

Leave a Reply

