Return of the Aging Tomatoes, and Meme

This evening we made burritos with this filling: onions, seitan, tomatoes, peppers, mushrooms and spices.  Topped with rice, avocado and yeast, they were great on a cold night when plain salad-type fillings wouldn’t have cut it.

I have been tagged by Bethany for a meme …. supposed to tell some random factoids about myself.  I have to say, right off the bat, that I can’t fulfill all the rules, and you’ll see why in a minute.  But here they are:

  1. Link the person that tagged you and post the rules on your blog.
  2. Share 7 random and/or weird facts about yourself.
  3. Tag 7 random people at the end of your post and include links.
  4. Let each person know that they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

Well, here goes:

  1. I have lived my life almost entirely in Wisconsin, although I have also lived in Illinois, where I was born, and Massachusetts and Rhode Island, where I graduated from high school. 
  2.  I became a vegetarian for the first time at summer camp when I was twelve.  The "mystery meat" was icky and the girl I liked best was a vegetarian.  She always got something different and special…. like tuna (go figure) or a dish of beans.  My mom put a stop to that nonsense soon after my return home, but I attempted to go veg off and on for the next few years.  I left home the day after my 17th birthday, and from then on it was no meat ever again. That was 1976.  I’ve only been vegan a couple of years.
  3. I am, or was, a brown belt in karate.  And I harbor secret dreams of going back to it.  Although… not so secret anymore, are they?
  4. My favorite book of all time is Small  Changes by Marge Piercy.  My favorite book as a child was Harriet the Spy.
  5. My favorite movie since I was 14 has to be To Have and Have Not.  Still, I’m a terminal sucker for Love Actually and Dirty Dancing.   Aunt Diane was the one who took me to see To Have and Have Not at the Brattle Street Theater in Cambridge.
  6. I learned to drive a stick shift car so I could save on gas.   Not because it is cooler.
  7. By the age of 20 I had fulfilled my life’s goal of living in a co-op, working in a co-op (Whole Earth) and using only bikes and public transportation.   With that out of the way, I now live a less green lifestyle, but still have all the memories…..
  8. What?  There are supposed to be only seven?  Well this is the most random one of all: very few people view this blog, and of those who do (and haven’t already participated in this meme), only two or three have blogs of their own.  However, I will tag them and see what happens!

Andrea of Andrea’s Easy Vegan Cooking
Wei-K in Hong Kong

Um, that’s it.  Seriously….. but thanks for the opportunity to get all this off my chest πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Return of the Aging Tomatoes, and Meme

  1. Anonymous says:

    you make such yummy food!
    I loved your meme random facts πŸ™‚
    When I was in college, I didn’t have a car and walked everywhere. It was really fun (though not in the winter).
    You should follow your dreams and go back to karate.
    I wish I had had a veg friend growing up. I would have gone veg (now vegan) a whole lot sooner. My mother didn’t like it one bit either. Luckily she accepts it now.
    You’re about 9 years older than me if my math is correct. So we saw some of the same things growing up.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com

  2. Anonymous says:

    Sigh. I suppose I deserve to be tagged after I tagged you.

  3. wei_k says:

    I like your #7 the best. (And your sense of humor. ^_^)
    Have I seen “To Have and Have Not?” It would seem weird if I hadn’t seen your all-time favorite movie, but I can’t remember it.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I’m awarding you with a “Butterfly Award” for having a really cool blog that I love to read. It’s also sort of a meme, so the love doesn’t stop w/ you πŸ™‚
    Please don’t start to dread my comments thinking there is a meme lurking in all of them πŸ™‚
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/2008/11/butterfly-award-meme-some-food-cats-of.html

    • wingraclaire says:

      Thank You!
      Thanks for all the comments! Yes, I am 49 now…
      My comment-notifier must be turned off because I never saw I had all these comments. I appreciate the butterfly πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

