Gluten-Free Cooking

When I first became a vegetarian, my parents were annoyed.  By asking to eat something different, I was in some way making a value judgment about the way I was raised to eat.  It also meant more work for my mom, as I didn’t know how to cook anything besides what I had always cooked and eaten up to that point.  (I was twelve.)  I’m trying to keep this in mind as my current immediate family tolerates my non-dairy status (most everything I cook is vegan), and as I adjust to my own child’s new diet.  When Eli first went gluten-free, he was not living at home.  Now that he is back here, we alternate between making stuff he can eat and letting him fend for himself.  Last night I made our traditional rice and vegetables, but something in the back of my mind told me to read the tamari bottle…. of course, there is wheat in it.  Same with the Hoisin sauce and the Szechuan.  So I put in a bunch of garlic, ginger, seaweed and sesame seeds, and left the diners to season their own portions at the table.

Over the weekend I made some terrific sauce that I thought would be good on pizza.  I haven’t made pizza in a couple of months, and I think I now know why.  What you see below are three separate pizzas.   I made a gluten-free crusted dairy-cheese pizza for Eli, a wheat-crusted soy-cheese pizza for myself, and the usual wheat-crusted dairy-cheese pizza for Papa.  Eli said the crust I made, following this recipe, was quite good!  

Today it snowed several more inches.  The kids were in heaven.  Yesterday I took this photo on the playground.  It is a classic small child’s snow fort. 

  It’s been an amazing honor to receive two butterfly awards, because in general I assume this blog has a reading audience of about five.  But hey, I’ll take it, and I’ll also give it – my hat is now off to the following people whose blogs are bookmarked right up on my toolbar!

  • Wei Kai-na is the person for whom this blog was originally created, and whose far-flung adventures (currently in Hong Kong) are followed by us stay-at-homes.
  • Andrea has been my friend and mentor for quite some time – ever since Wei Kai-na and her son were in nursery school.  Today she shares her art and recipes with the world.
  • Bethany not only creates fun and delicious recipes, she also fosters so many dogs and cats I can’t keep them straight.  They are all cute and the photos are adorable.  It seems she has even built some fenced-in cat yard so the kitties can go outside.  How cool is that?  I am also learning about Washington State… one of the many places I have not yet been.  Bethany nominated me for a Butterfly Award ❀
  • Felicity’s blog caught my eye with the "thrifty" title.  (I’m one of those people who subscribed to the Tightwad Gazette back in the ’90’s…. whatever happened to Amy, anyway?  She could be writing a blog, but no….)   I enjoy reading Felicity’s recipes and comments about life in the UK, where I have ALSO never been.  I think I am learning some new words πŸ™‚  Felicity nominated me for a Butterfly Award ❀
  • Vegan Dad reminds me of the days I had three children under the age of five. 

OK: I know I am supposed to post my butterfly on my sidebar, and will do that stat… just as soon as I figure out what a sidebar is and how to put it there.  Ditto for the links to these blogs… I’ve figured out all the other parts of blogging so far.  What’s a few more skills?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gluten-Free Cooking

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thanks so much for the butterfly award! I also think there are probably about five people who read MY blog πŸ™‚
    Felicity
    http://www.thriftyliving.net

  2. Anonymous says:

    Claire…

  3. wei_k says:

    I love those photos, esp. of the measuring cup / pot, and the snow fort (it looks like it’s on the moon).
    Your pictures of snow make me shiver. Though actually this morning here it’s rather chilly and polluted. (I’ll post those pics soon, really really…)
    Thanks for the award. πŸ™‚ Especially since I’ve been slow about posting things lately! (and have skipped over huge chunks… like Halloween, thanksgiving, Japan… you know, the usual.)

  4. Anonymous says:

    wow, sounds like you were working in a pizzeria this week πŸ™‚
    I’m happy the crusts worked out for you. they look awesome!
    You deserve the meme, you’re awesome. Thanks for the right back at you butterfly award. I only foster the 1 dog. All the others are permanent residents of the crazy cat lady house (6 cats, 1 dog, 2 humans).
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

