Busy Day in the Middle of Nowhere

Gee, it seems like just last Saturday that Papa was out burning stuff, and there was no snow to speak of.  I guess that’s because there wasn’t.

Since then it has snowed at least three times.  Last night it started again, at about 11:00.

In the morning, it was still snowing, or blowing around; hard to tell which.  Papa, driving in to work before the snowplows were out, had a hard time of it.  So much blowing and drifting on Highway 78!   It was 25 degrees F, much better than in the previous few days, but the strong wind made it mighty cold.  I didn’t even feel like going out to get the paper.  Then the coop came to deliver gas…

…and Dominic came to plow us out…

…and you can tell from all these pics that I am merely stepping onto the threshold and not even really going out.  Why go out, when I have a picture window?  Anyway, I spend plenty of time out at recess…

At some point, the sun came out briefly.

I set about making cookies for Dominic, for plowing us out.  I decided to try this recipe, because it uses oil instead of margarine.  Since I can never leave well enough alone, and because the dough didn’t seem as stiff as the directions said it would be, I ended up adding some rolled oats, some whole wheat pastry flour, and some  ground pecans leftover from Thanksgiving.  They came out great.  When they were done, I took a walk down the road to deliver them.  Cold as it was in the wind, it is supposed to get much colder tomorrow.  (I believe the weather forecast included the word "plummet.")  In the evening, I decided to make something with seitan, as Eli is in Kansas getting the rest of his stuff.   I chose Chickpea Cutlets from Veganomicon, because the recipe features two of Papa’s favorite things, seitan and garbanzo beans.  I think they came out pretty well, but I didn’t love them as much as he did.  Maybe it’s because I baked them instead of frying.  I don’t like frying.  But that way I could make roasted potatoes at the same time.  It seemed like a good thing to do in this weather – stay in the kitchen, close to the oven!   Hmmmm…. I guess that means more gas deliveries….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Busy Day in the Middle of Nowhere

  1. wei_k says:

    It’s beautiful! Though looks cold.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Whoa. The weather always sounds worse when I read about it here. But yesterday (12/6) was nasty. We did lots of errands and the wind was cold and biting. It’s my face that always feels resentful since the rest of me is warm enough. (A facemask?)
    At least the snow is light and powdery and not like the wet, heavy east coast stuff that’s so hard to shovel. Ken says it’s supposed to snow for the next three days, about three inches a day. I don’t believe him. Do you?
    BTW, Ken made those cutlets, too, and maybe he didn’t cook them enough (actually he cooked them too fast so the outside was burned and the inside too raw) but they didn’t turn out so well.

    • wingraclaire says:

      I think I didn’t add enough liquid when I was doubling because I was talking to someone. (Never talk and cook.) That’s why mine were dry, in addition to baking, I guess. But Alan liked them fine!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Wow, sooo cold but also beautiful! Here it is “cold” when it dips below freezing at night (it does get colder than that, but not this winter yet).
    Felicity – http://www.thriftyliving.net

    • wingraclaire says:

      Do you get much snow?

      • Anonymous says:

        Since I’ve been here (three years), I think it’s snowed once every winter, but just a light dusting (what we used to call a “skiff” of snow, though that term isn’t known here!) But I grew up on the Canadian prairies, so I’ve known cold & snowy conditions 🙂
        -Felicity

  4. Anonymous says:

    it looks like you mowed your lawn on saturday. the last mowing of the year? in wa, the grass grows a lot in the winter, but you can’t really cut it because it’s ususally too wet.
    i know I always whine about it, but just seeing the snow makes me cold. ok, maybe it’s just a tad too cold in the house right now.
    baking the cutlets is the way to go. I tried the pan frying technique and it didnt’ work. they didn’t cook all the way through.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

