I still have much to learn

One of my firsts cookbooks was Diet for a  Small Planet, and one of my favorite favorite recipes therein was  Enchilada Bake.  These days I make an altered version of it, and yesterday I made three way-altered versions, sort of like my pizzas of last week.  Two of the casseroles below use spinach (wheat) tortillas, and one of those is vegan.  The third is made with corn tortillas for  Eli.  That was the easy part.

I wanted to make cranberry muffins because I had lots of cranberries left from Thanksgiving.  So I made one regular version plus one with the gluten-free flour mix I have leftover from classroom projects.  These muffins rose too high, then collapsed in.  They tasted fairly good, although they were too crumbly.  Must learn more…

It is snowing again; this time they say it’s the "big one."  Meaning either school will be canceled tomorrow, or else it’ll be one heck of a drive in!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I still have much to learn

  1. Anonymous says:

    Wow. I can’t believe you cook so many versions of each dish. I can barely prepare one version. They all look so good.
    Check out http://eatnvegn.blogspot.com for gluten free ideas. Also diet dessert and dogs for gluten free baking.
    My kids used to love enchilada bakes. I think I have a couple of different versions on the blog.

  2. Anonymous says:

    mmm, those look really good. Last time I made enchiladas, I used homemade corn tortillas, which turned out really well (the only bought ones available here have hydrogenated fat in them).
    -Felicity at http://www.thriftyliving.net

    • wingraclaire says:

      Homemade corn tortillas! That sounds good – I should try that. We have a Mexican bakery here (well, in Madison) that makes them fresh. I took my class on a field trip 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    you’re very dedicated to make 3 of everything. I’d just narrow it down to the lowest common denominator and everybody would eat that 🙂
    When I was little, if there was a lot of snow, I would wait at the radio hoping for a snow day. It was rare they would cancel for us because most kids walked to school. Eventually my mother would make us go to school.
    sort of unrelated… The cravings place makes the best vegan gluten free chocolate brownie mix. “Ooey Gooey Chocolatey Chewy Brownie Mix”
    http://www.thecravingsplace.com/products.htm
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

    • wingraclaire says:

      Thanks, I will check that out!
      I know what you mean about waiting for snow days… Madison, where I teach, almost NEVER closes; however, my small town school district will close and we’ve spent many the morning waiting for the magic word…

Leave a Reply

