Snow Day!

It’s been a gray day, filled with howling wind and blowing snow.  Fortunately, Papa had the day off so nobody had to go anywhere.  Eli and I took a walk; where the valley sheltered us, the temperatures weren’t too bad.  Out in the wind, though, was another story.  I hear we got a total of  6  inches of snow today.  I’m sooooo lucky I didn’t have to try driving in!

I’ve photographed this stretch of road often this year.  Today it was pretty un-inviting looking!

This part of the road is more sheltered and was nicer.

Papa and Eli in the driveway.

Remember the movie Shrek?  When Shrek met Lord Farquaad, he mused, "Maybe he’s trying to compensate for something…."

I’ve decided that all the cooking I’ve been doing lately is partly to assuage the guilt I feel as I prepare to abandon my family next week.  In any case, this evening Papa made the Moosewood Cookbook’s lentil soup, which was awesome, and I decided to make green bean casserole from Fat-Free Vegan to use up the leftover toasted onions from  Thanksgiving.  But when I looked at the ingredients, of course there was wheat flour in it.  I already had the oven on, as I was making seitan (for Papa), and I decided instead of the casserole I’d just make some barbequed tempeh to go with dinner.

However, I decided to take a closer look at the tempeh package, because I had a sneaking suspicion that it had stuff with gluten in it, and indeed it did.  It’s a multi-grain and soy tempeh, which is all Trader Joe’s sells.  So of course Eli can’t eat it, and so of course I then threw in some barbequed tofu.  Then I made some rice and sauteed some onions, carrots, broccoli and cabbage to go with the barbequed stuff, and since the oven was on anyway, some potatoes.  Suffice it to say there will be leftovers for a few days.  Tomorrow night I’m actually going out to eat, so the guys will be fine.  I have never been to the Shish Cafe but will go there with Zei Gezundt, and will report on what they have!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Snow Day!

  1. Anonymous says:

    The very best veg thing at Shish Cafe (in my opinion) is the Damascus Spinach. If you get that, be sure to ask for no yogurt. The vegetarian platters are good, too, but the spinach is best. It’s a little expensive but very good. They have the best pita bread baked in a brick oven.

  2. wei_k says:

    I totally do that same “well, the oven’s on anyway, and I’m already making things anyway” thing… and then end up with lots of good food. I love it. Your pics of food look delicious!
    Also… I love the look of the snow. It’s so barren. Looks cold. Seems in another universe, how different that scene from this one. you’ll see. 😉
    And about abandoning your family next week (!), don’t worry, you’re leaving one section of family for another.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Hey, it’s me again. I have a similar scene at my house. not the tons of awesome food, but the snow and a lonely icicle. Kobie is loving the snow.
    I’m awarding you the proximity award. Yeah, I know, I keep giving you awards and meme stuff. I only do it because you’re so awesome.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

    • wingraclaire says:

      Ha! I just thanked you on your blog. I always check it out, along with my other favorites, before I log on here. And somehow my notifier is turned off and I can’t turn it on. But thanks again. Your pic of Kobie is very cute. My cats would rather hang out in your cat cabana-thingie!

Leave a Reply

