I’m a total fraud, although not intentionally :)

Lately our food choices have been defined by: what’s in the fridge already, who is home to cook it, who will be here to eat it, and whether or not it has gluten in it.  I have felt insanely busy, but Papa has made two great soups in the past week, which helps a lot.   On Friday, we all had a looooong day.  I looked into the refrigerator and found the baked yukon gold and sweet potatoes I made the other day when I had the oven on… had I had more time, I would have mashed them and then made chickpea gravy from VWAV to go with it.  But I wanted to be quicker about it, so I mashed them and started chopping and sauteeing stuff to go on top.  By the time I finished, I had tossed in an onion, garlic, peppers, red beans, cumin and curry, a little brown sugar and red wine, cabbage (we still have two from the garden!) and an apple that was getting wrinkled.   I was a little hesitant to try it, but in the end we decided that it tasted much better than we had expected it to taste, and certainly was colorful!  (And someday I’ll get a better camera that will show what I mean….)

Last night was like a work night, as I had been gone all day, first to a Bar Mitzvah (very little to eat, unfortunately), and then to school to plan for January.  When I got home, Papa had made the Brazilian Black Bean Soup from Moosewood, and it was absolutely delicious.  I made some quesedillas to go with them.  Pictured here are our pretty spinach tortillas; Eli had the less-attractive corn ones.  This helped us to use up leftover rice, and I’m trying to finish up my soy cheese before leaving town.

I have an enormous Thank You to Bethany of Spotted Devil Cat fame, who has given me a Proximity Award!
Here is what it says:

"This blog invests and believes in PROXIMITY – nearness in space, time and relationships! These blogs are exceedingly charming. These kind bloggers aim to find and be friends. They are not interested in prizes or self-aggrandizement. Our hope is that when the ribbons of these prizes are cut, even more friendships are propagated. Please give more attention to these writers! Deliver this award to eight bloggers who must choose eight more and include this cleverly-written text into the body of their award."

Isn’t that totally sweet?  I DO believe in proximity, most of the time, as evidenced by my failure ever to go anywhere or see anyone, especially Andrea, who has an ice cream maker for me!  But I feel like a total fraud…. because in a few days I will be as far from proximal, or thrifty, as a person can get.  I’ll be flying to HONG KONG to see Wei-K!!!!!  

In my absence, I will try to post.  I promise.  Especially about the food, which I am anxious to try.  And unicycle hockey, which apparently exists.  And everything else!!!  See you all soon!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m a total fraud, although not intentionally :)

  1. Anonymous says:

    That’s so awesome that you’re going to Hong Kong. I’m sure the food and scenery will be amazing. And of course, you’re going to have a blast seeing your daughter! You totally deserve a great vacation. I’m really looking forward to the posts πŸ™‚
    Papa is so nice to have made you some soup. very cool.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

    • wingraclaire says:

      Yep, Papa’s favorite cookbook is still Moosewood.
      Thanks for the good vibes. We will both seek out the good food and exciting places, and report it all back. Have a great two weeks πŸ™‚

  2. Anonymous says:

    Hey, you are going to Hong Kong to celebrate a relationship. Building relationships is one of the things you won the award for. BTW watch out for pig brains.
    We finally brought the ice cream maker in from the porch, but you still have to come for dinner and retrieve it!
    Can’t wait to hear about your trip.
    Noah knows people in Beijing and Chungching. (that’s not the correct spelling but it’s phonetic.)That’s probably too far from where you’ll be.

  3. wei_k says:

    πŸ™‚
    I was actually just thinking–like, 5 mins ago–about how good that Brazilian Black Bean Soup would be.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Hope you have a great time in Hong Kong. Take lots of pictures! πŸ™‚
    ~Felicity at thriftyliving.net

Leave a Reply

