Things we should have in Wisconsin, part 1

Have you ever been transported out of your environment and plunked down in another, completely new, setting?  And the new setting has, perhaps, a 7-11 store on every corner, with convenience foods you actually want to buy?  Example: aloe drink.  Even better example: sweetened silken tofu you can eat with a spoon.  We bought plain, but you could also get ginger. 

Best example of all: warm soymilk, plain or malted (we also saw ginger once!), in deposit bottles!!!!!
This stuff is MADE in Hong Kong!

Sorry this is short… and infrequent so far…. I’m still reacclimating.  And I need my warm soymilk.  And I’ve gone back to work in the snow and ice.   TTYL!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Things we should have in Wisconsin, part 1

  1. Anonymous says:

    Maybe you need a soymilk machine. I doubt you’ll find warm soymilk in Mt. Horeb any other way.
    We used to have a tiny shop on the corner (in Syracuse) where tofu was made fresh every day.

  2. Anonymous says:

    above comment is from me.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I’ve never been to Hong Kong, but I’m from Vancouver, which has a big Chinatown… I used to sometimes buy lunch from a little restaurant, and all of their meals came with choice of freshly make soya milk, plain or sweet, hot or cold. Tastes more “beany” than commercial soya milk, but I love it!
    ~Felicity at thriftyliving.net

    • wingraclaire says:

      Yes, more “beany,” but real, and good! Wish we had a Chinatown nearer to us, but there ARE good Asian markets in Madison, where I work. I would love to visit Vancouver, too.

  4. Anonymous says:

    malted soymilk sounds really delicious!
    they had silk nog on sale for 50 cents a quart at my co-op because they are trying to get rid of it – it expires on 1/31. andy bought a bunch. hmmmm… i wonder why i get sick of it?
    have you ever heated up chocolate silk and topped it w/ suzanne’s rice based marshmallow (sort of like fluff)? it’s really good, though very sweet. I like it w/ toast. that’s my winter comfort snack.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

    • wingraclaire says:

      No, I have NEVER tried that, and it sounds really really good! Alan buys chocolate soymilk – it is HIS beverage of choice. I make my own hot chocolate using Felicity’s recipe, or at least I think it’s hers, because it is so easy. And I’ll look for the Suzanne’s stuff.

  5. wei_k says:

    I’m going to start catching up on your blog, now that I’m back (and can access LJ at all!). I thoroughly enjoyed reading this post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

