Saturday is warmer

Today the high was in the low 20’s.  The ground was still so frozen that there were lots of accidents on the icy highway as we drove to Madison.  Roya and I went to see The Reader.

We had both read the book and loved it, so we wanted to see the movie despite some negative reviews.  Actually, we liked it a lot.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Saturday is warmer

  1. Is that Kate Winslet in The Reader?
    Not seen or read that anyway but I LOVE Kate Winslet – she always does such good films!

    • wingraclaire says:

      Yes, it IS Kate Winslet, and here’s a funny story (or at least a story I didn’t know): I did a search for some film photo to use in the blog, and kept finding Nicole Kidman’s name attached to the film, and she wasn’t IN the film! It turns out she was originally supposed to play that part and then pulled out a year ago. (I forget why at the moment.) So it just happened to be Kate Winslet. And she was great. So was Lena Olin, an actress I really love.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I really liked the book, too, but was reluctant to see the film.
    -Andrea

    • wingraclaire says:

      I was, too, because Roya and I had both read the book and both loved it. Lots of times the movies spoil it for me. But in this case, although they weren’t 100% faithful to the book, they did a really great job.

  3. Anonymous says:

    sounds like an interesting book/film. I haven’t been to a movie in a long time. I wait until they are on hbo/showtime/etc. for some reason, I’m too impatient to sit in the theater.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

