Life’s busy, and a lot warmer

We’re having a warm spell here – for the past three days, the temps have been in the 30’s to low 40’s F, and a lot of the snow is melting.  Well, a lot of snow in town 🙂  Yesterday we took a walk in the back 40 to check it all out.   The warmer air has caused the snow to settle to at least half its original height, and it’s very soft and wet now.  Of course, it’s melting and flooding elsewhere.  This valley is like its own little refrigerator; that’s why we’re always colder than everyone else.

I feel as if I haven’t posted in ages, and I feel mighty busy doing just the normal things.  We’ve certainly been cooking….especially when it was below zero and all we wanted to do was eat.
Cream of potato soup, salad
Curried noodles with tofu and vegetables in coconut milk
Roasted potatoes, baked seasoned tempeh
A curried chickpea casserole on rice, adapted from Dreena Burton’s recipe in Vive la Vegan
… plus split-pea soup and biscuits, pasta with seitan and fire-roasted tomato sauce, miso soup, noodles with peanut sauce, chili and cornbread…. and I think we all know what those look like!

The most exciting thing that has happened in the last week was my evening spent with Andrea.  I had won two tickets to see Candide at the Union Theater.  I invited Andrea to accompany me, and she invited me to dinner beforehand.   Fortunately for  me, everything Andrea makes tastes just as good as it looks on her blog.  We had quinoa soup, bread, and she had even made cupcakes for dessert using her wacky cake recipe.  (The cupcakes were topped with ricemellow creme.)  Mmmmm……. well, you will just have to try all these for yourselves.   Candide was fabulous, even though we were tired and also surrounded by giggling girls.  In fact, I was a little worried about going because I thought I might fall asleep!  By the time we settled into our comfy seats, I’d have been happy to hear the overture and Glitter and be Gay, and then go home.  Luckily, the entire production was captivating.  Now I’ve got the song in my head, so I’m going to share it with you 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life’s busy, and a lot warmer

  1. Anonymous says:

    wow, you’ve been eating really well. YUM!
    I checked out that quinoa soup recipe and it looks really good.
    that’s cool that you got to see the show. sound like fun.
    you’re losing snow and I gained some last night and tonight. what’s up w/ that?
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

  2. Anonymous says:

    The food looks really good. I just ate dinner but it still made me hungry! Candide WAS terrific. And so was getting to spend the whole evening with you. Thanks so much for inviting me.

  3. wei_k says:

    Food pics look delicious. Glad to see the snow pics as well.
    mmm….. not sure on the ricemellow-creme. Sounds like it has potential to be good or really not.
    As soon as the YouTube video loads I’ll watch it. I’ve never seen Candide.

Leave a Reply

