Remembering we can all laugh at ourselves once in awhile…

On Sunday the Wisconsin State Journal ran an article about the local Vegetarian Meetup Group…. I had already gotten interested because of Bethany, and when I read this article I knew I had to join.  The other selling point was that Andrea would also join.  The article rubbed me the wrong way because it referred to a stereotype of vegetarians who "don’t really like food," which didn’t make any sense to me.  However, I wasn’t the only one who went to the website and joined!  Today I got this welcome message from the organizer, and fell for it before really reading it carefully.  Once Papa pointed out there is no April 31st, I actually read the menu and laughed until I cried. 

We had a great response to the article in last Sunday’s paper, with over 30 new people signing up for the group in just a few days. For those who are new to the group, I think you’ll find us to be welcoming and fun.

To commemorate the influx of new members, I contacted the owners of the vegetarian Dandelion Food Cart to prepare a special dinner for us that accommodates the diets of as many people as possible. So, in addition to being completely vegan, the menu for this meal will be free of gluten, wheat, peanuts, strong spices, sugar, and salt…

Appetizers
Dried Lentils with Brown Rice
Steamed Cauliflower Bits on Flaxseed Crackers

Soup
Pressed Celery in Salt-Free Vegetable Broth

Entrees
Rotini Rice Pasta Mixed with Thinly-Sliced Carrots
Steamed Mini Tofu Squares with Fresh Bean Sprouts

Dessert
Homemade Cabbage Sorbet with Puffed Rice Wafers

Beverages
Ice Water with a Hint of Brewer’s Yeast

April 31, 2009 at 6:30 pm
Goodman Community Center
149 Waubesa Street
Cost: $14.00
More Info/RSVP

I hope you can make it.

-Dave


Have a happy week!  I’ve been so busy getting things ready for and implementing our All School unit (and the graham cracker tectonic plates worked fabulously, by the way), packing for our trip to Rhode Island, and trying to get more sleep, I’ve been reading peoples’ blogs but not actually posting anything myself.  On Friday evening we’re leaving and will be enjoying a totally normal (i.e. nothing we can eat) Passover Seder next Wednesday…. and then we’ll come home to create the traditional vegan affair we have enjoyed for the last who-knows-how-many years.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Remembering we can all laugh at ourselves once in awhile…

  1. Anonymous says:

    I fell for that joke, too, until the second e-mail with the retraction. I guess I didn’t read it carefully. The menu sounded horrible but I still wanted to go, just because…I’m such a dedicated vegan.

  2. wei_k says:

    That’s funny!

  3. Anonymous says:

    It’s funny, but sad because it would have been nice to hang out w/ other veg*ns. I think you should start your own meetup or find one at meetup.com. If anybody could do it, it’s you. Then the Wisconsin State Journal will have some real reporting to do on vegan meetups 🙂
    RI is a nice state. Hopefully you can find a nice place to eat on happycow to supplement your fasting seder. I’m sure the one that you have a home will be a wonderful feast.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

    • wingraclaire says:

      Good news: that was the April Fool’s joke from the actual vegetarian meetup coordinator. I’ll go to an event to see how I like it next time they have one!
      Other good news: we were able to eat many hors d’oeuvres (sp?) including vegan “chopped liver,” stuffed mushrooms and stuffed grape leaves; alongside the entree of meat there were roasted potatoes, roasted vegetables, sweet potato kugel (a casserole) and fruit. For dessert there was a non-dairy chocolate cake, among the other things we didn’t eat. So it all went much better than we thought. And there was always matzah….

      • Anonymous says:

        Funny April Fool’s menu!!!
        Ha! Ha! Very funny! Glad that you really didn’t have to eat that menu – the real one sounds much better. Good to have a sense of humor though – helps us not take everything so seriously.
        best,
        Ellen
        http://www.Iamglutenfree.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

