A promise…

One thing I’ve noticed lately is how much I’ve been whining on this blog.  Normally I complain about how tired I am, and then post a picture of some hasty meal.  So I’ve decided never to post on Friday nights, when I’m usually (and sometimes justifiably!) tired.  Instead, I’ll think about doing so on Sunday nights, when I’m merely procrastinating.  

This weekend I bought new snack bowls for the classroom.  We already have snack plates and now I wanted some washable bowls.  (Snack time is a sacred Wingra School tradition, but trashing the planet shouldn’t be.)  Aren’t these colorful?

This weekend Papa planted 11 raspberry bushes before it started pouring, and is itching to plow up the garden.  With that in mind, I went into the freezer to see what’s been stored for the winter… before we grow more of it!  Sure enough, we had some frozen blenderized zucchini, so I made some muffins.  Naturally, I did it because we were already using the oven for roasted potatoes and pecan loaf.   Pecan loaf is so easy to make because, as Papa says, it only uses 8 ingredients, so if you memorize the recipe you can make it in no time flat.  Here it is again…

Pecan Loaf (adapted from the Deaf Smith Country Cookbook)

2 cups chopped pecans (chop finely or put in food processor)
1 cup bread crumbs
1/2 cup minced onions (again, food processor)
1 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. dried sage
2 TBS. ground flax seed (original recipe calls for two eggs; I’ve been using this substitute and nobody has noticed….)
1 cup canned, diced tomatoes
1/2 cup milk or cream of your choice (I just use soy milk)

Mix everything together and bake for about 40 minutes at 350 degrees.
You can also add pepper to taste, "dot with butter" before baking, and then garnish with parsley before serving.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A promise…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Good old Deaf Smith. I used to make stuff like this all the time (I refer to the results as “brown things”) and I really liked them. I think I’ll try this, but maybe with walnuts since we seem to have a lot of them right now. This might be a good opportunity to use up the matzo meal that didn’t go into the macaroons!

    • wingraclaire says:

      I actually used half walnuts last night because that’s what I had. And yeah, sometimes I make this dish during Passover – matzoh meal is like really dry breadcrumbs.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I don’t notice you whining. I never got snacks in school. except for in ME in 5th grade once in a while.
    on another note, thanks for doing PIF with me. It’s going to be fun :). If you could email me your address, that would be great. sdcatvegan[at]gmail.com.
    Thanks, Bethany
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

  3. wei_k says:

    Those bowls are beautiful. Too bad you had to wash them all! Food looks delish.
    Lately I’ve been taking pics of things I’ve been making, and with you in mind!, but then that impetus hasn’t translated into blog posts. (oops.)

  4. Anonymous says:

    Mmm, the pecan loaf looks yummy. So do the muffins. I wouldn’t have thought of blenderizing and freezing zucchini. What kind of raspberries did you plant? (summer or autumn?)

Leave a Reply

