My clean kitchen

I did not start out to clean the kitchen.  The kitchen was pretty clean already.  I started out to make lasagna with some of our frozen basil.  The more seeds planted in our garden, the more nervous I get about what’s in the freezer from last summer.  So I made the classic lasagna recipe from Fat Free Vegan and instead of using spinach I used a bunch of basil.

See, last summer I washed, dried, pressed and froze a whole bunch o’ basil…

I also wanted to make a trial batch of Easy Whole Grain Flatbread from Mark Bittman’s NPR post about being a part-time vegan.  We have chickpea flour (besan) and he said that made this way, it would be a great pizza crust.  This is important because we’ll be making pizza this week at school, and the gluten-free crust recipe I already have is pretty complicated, and this looked easy.   The recipe states that a pizza pan is the optimal baking surface… and it further states that the batter should be the consistency of thin pancake batter.  Well, pizza pans are pretty thin, and so was the batter…. and it didn’t help that I was on the phone at the moment I went to put it in the oven… and let’s just say that next time I make it, I’ll use a cake pan or something, and the heck with authenticity.  That way, I won’t have to clean my oven, my floor, my pants, my Birkenstocks…. unless, of course, I really want to!   The good news is that now my oven is nice and clean, the lasagna came out great, and even the bit of batter I had left baked up nicely and tasted good.

In other news, we had some more torrential rains, which will certainly help the garden grow…. at least, the things that haven’t washed away!  Here is Spotty taking one for the team by drinking up one of the puddles.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My clean kitchen

  1. Mmmm that Lasagne looks good. I used up all my frozen Basil yonks ago – it is my all time favourite and it never lasts long around me. I’m off to the garden centre to buy a new plant today.
    🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Oh Claire, I know that sinking feeling I get when something thick and copious hits the hot oven and oozes into all the nooks and spaces, hissing and sticking. Sorry that happened to you, but at least you have a nice clean oven now. And that whole pan of lasagna!

  3. Anonymous says:

    hmmmm… i think mr. bittman should be invited over to help clean 🙂
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

  4. Anonymous says:

    a heat pump works on a heat differential. it moves hot air out of the house in the summer and into the house in the winter. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heat_pump
    we’re also getting a super efficient furnace.
    we had a huge power outage type thunderstorm tonight. power is back now.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

  5. Anonymous says:

    The flatbread does look interesting. I’ve got a recipe somewhere from an Indian cookbook for besan flatbread. Great idea about using it as a gluten-free pizza base.
    ~Felicity at thriftyliving.net

  6. wei_k says:

    First, that basil leaf looks like a fish!
    Nice to see a pic of Spotty + the yard. 🙂 [sans fish.]
    Too bad about the oven / pizza explosion!
    Speaking of which, I’m going to Gold Coast tonight for dinner. The Ebeneezer’s there has a Tuesday night, 2-for-1 pizza special!

Leave a Reply

