What’s in an AWESOME BITE?

The other day our neighbor Mary offered me an "Aussie Bite."  She gets them at Sam’s Club (a division of Wal-Mart).  She is a vegetarian, and would never give me something I wouldn’t eat…. but the minute I bit into it I could taste butter, and (politely) asked to see the ingredients, and sure enough there was.  Mary LOVES these itsy bitsy muffins, and I can see why.  They are studded with all good things, and I decided to try and make something like them.  First, I tried to remember what I had seen or tasted in the little one I’d bitten.  I know for sure there were sunflower seeds, oats, coconut shreds, and craisins.  I didn’t want a dry-tasting muffin, so I decided to start with the basic banana bread I already like, and just keep adding.  Here’s what I used…

  • 3 large bananas
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 TBS maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 TBS smooth peanut butter (would have used more but we’re really running out)
  • 1/2 cup regular oats
  • 1/2 cup grated coconut
  • 1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup craisins (again, would have used more but it was all I had)
  • 1 large carrot, grated
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup unbleached flour
  1. Cream the brown sugar in the oil; cream in the peanut butter. 
  2. Blend in the carrot, oats, coconut, seeds, and craisins.
  3. In a separate bowl, mash the banana thoroughly, then stir in the previous mixture and blend thoroughly.
  4. Add the salt and baking soda and mix, then fold in the flour.
  5. Spoon into mini-muffin tins and bake at 350 – 375 degrees F until browned and dry inside (you’ll have to cut one open to test it 🙂

I just googled Aussie Bites for a photo and see that people have been trying to come up with a recipe because they love them so much…. well, I’m not going to look at theirs, because I like these just fine.  And my tester LOVED them.  So that’s good enough for me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What’s in an AWESOME BITE?

  1. Anonymous says:

    These sound yummy – and full of good stuff.

  2. wei_k says:

    Those seem intense!

  3. Anonymous says:

    mmmmm… muffins! aka bites. They look / sound great to me.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

  4. Anonymous says:

    These look so good! I can’t wait to try them.

    • Thank you for this recipe – they sound lovely!
      I still make mistakes on eating food, though I am getting better at reading labels.
      I bought an English Muesli bar the other day and read the Spanish ingredients (which they have to put on a sticker by law) because I just presumed the sticker had been stuck over the English ingredients. Anyway – there were no nasties in the ingredients and whilst I was munching my way through it thinking to myself “WOAH this is so good for so few ingredients…I wonder how many calories it is…” So I turned the wrapper over and underneath the folded down bit of wrapper was the nutritional info and the ingredients in English.
      I was fuming when I noticed that half the ingredients hadn’t been included in the Spanish ingredients which also included MILK!
      I don’t know whether I should say anything or not – I mean, imagine if I had an allergy??

  5. Anonymous says:

    We love your blog !
    Hello,
    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.
    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.
    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.
    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”
    Best regards,
    Vincent
    petitchef.com

    • wingraclaire says:

      Re: We love your blog !
      Thank you! I will do that, provisionally, as I check out your site. Please keep in mind that although I am always a vegan, I don’t always talk about food.

Leave a Reply

