Spring Dinner in More Than One Home

With the garden still in its infancy…

See the row of spinach coming up? 

…we are still dependent on the supermarket for most fresh items.  However, we do have asparagus coming up – several stalks per day – and we still have morels.  Last night I made Delicious Tempeh Croutons (I should really tag that recipe, as I’ve posted it more than once), sauteed morels, asparagus, red bell pepper, onions and garlic, added salt, pepper and wine, and served it all over brown rice.  When Callie and Roya came home, Callie said, "That’s just what we ate last night – morels and asparagus!"

We also have a struggling rhubarb plant that has been flooded out many times.  This year it had produced a few thin stems before beginning to flower.  I chopped them up and made a fruit crisp with (lots of) added black caps from the freezer (have to use them up before the new ones come in!) and one apple that was getting soft.  For the record, the topping was 1/2 c. Earth Balance, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup oats, a sprinkle of salt, and about 3/4 cup of mixed (ground in blender) oats and nuts leftover from Passover that I had in the refrigerator. (Why from Passover?  I had started to make a gluten-free "matzoh" for Eli before he told me not to bother.)  I baked it for about an hour, maybe less… and we had it with Soy Delicious vanilla ice cream, even though it was quite tasty all by itself!

The other night it was a different story.  I came home late because I’d had a flat tire.  Before that, I’d had some dental work done and was numb for hours.  By 7:00 p.m. I was ready for dinner, but my mouth was not!  Although some people make shakes or smoothies every day, it never occurred to me to do so until I started thinking about what I could have with a straw.  This was very simple and filling: one cup of (plain) Silk, one TBSP. of peanut butter, a squirt of agave, and a banana.  And unlike our Saturday night dinner, this time all I had to wash was the blender…


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spring Dinner in More Than One Home

  1. Anonymous says:

    Everything looks really good – at least I’m imagining that morels are good since I’ve never actually tasted one. (Hard to believe, I know.)
    The crisp looks really good, too, but I’m closer to knowing what that tastes like!
    Too bad about the flat and the dental work. What a day that must have been. Yuck. But at least you got a smoothie out of it. I’ve been having smoothies for lunch because I’ve been so busy and because I’m trying to use up frozen fruit. I’ve still got bags of rhubarb in the freezer, too, but that’s not going into a smoothie.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I have never had a morel. Wasn’t “that’s what I had for lunch” some sort of lame joke back in the day?
    I’m getting psyched to start my herb garden. I’m waiting on some factors to see when to plant it. I think most of them will survive the seattle winter (unless it snows like this year).
    mmmm… crisp.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

    • wingraclaire says:

      Hmmmmm… WAS it a joke? I don’t remember 🙂 Now I just hear, “That’s what HE said….”
      An herb garden sounds wonderful. Do you plant in pots or right in the ground?

  3. wei_k says:

    That all seems so deluxe! And looks delicious.
    I hope your mouth is better now. Dentist + flat tire? uck.

Leave a Reply

