Dairy-free in the dairy state

This is my ice cream maker, which was a present from Andrea.  Until yesterday, I had yet to use it.  However, we’ve been studying Wisconsin at school, and of course we love to cook, and of course Wisconsin is the Dairy State….. so that’s how we ended up making four kinds of ice cream yesterday.  The kids chose Mint Chocolate Chip, Lemon, and  Chocolate, and these were made from scratch with all the whole milk and heavy cream you might imagine them having.  Word on the street was that they were goooooooooood.  However, the fourth flavor was designated non-dairy, and my two dairy-allergic students decided that they wanted Mango ice cream.  I know why: on our field trip to the Indian restaurant, everyone raved about the homemade mango ice cream, which we could not eat.  On the day I went shopping, the mangos didn’t look so good, and weren’t ripe, so I ended up getting the canned stuff.  Big mistake!  Next time (and trust me, there WILL be a next time), I’ll at least buy frozen chunks.  In any case, the product was  judged "Not awesome, but still very good" by my panel of two…. and I agreeThis recipe worked very well, and was made by the kids right in the classroom using a hot plate, but I can’t help thinking that just tossing some coconut milk, sweetener and mangos into the freezer compartment would end well.  After all, the kids made pina coladas in Spanish class, and those would probably have made a wonderful frozen dessert.  Thanks to Andrea for the ice cream maker, and the Vegan in Ice Cream Paradise!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dairy-free in the dairy state

  1. Anonymous says:

    YAY! You finally used it. I’m supposed to make ice cream using an exclusive Wheeler’s Ice Cream recipe because they are doing a virtual book tour on my blog July 7. I’m thinking of asking for a different recipe – one which doesn’t require soy creamer.
    Recently, Diann from eat’n veg’n posted an ice cream recipe that sounded delish. She doesn’t eat soy. Check it out. BTW I bought frozen mango chunks at Trader Joe’s and am making smoothies with them.

  2. wei_k says:

    Yum, that sounds delicious, yeah!
    I have some coconut milk in the fridge now… hmm…

  3. Anonymous says:

    you have to be the coolest teacher ever. mango ice cream is really hard to make, but if you can get an awesome recipe, it’s worth the effort. mmmm…. thinking of mango ice cream and I haven’t even eaten lunch yet.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

