That time of year….

This is the time of year when lots of things happen at once.  It’s the end of the school year, so I’ve been staying at work much later trying to get things together, and there suddenly seems to be so little time!!!  The last day of school is in one week.  Also, things are beginning to come up in the garden, reminding me I still have stuff in the freezer from last year.  (Funny, because Andrea just posted about this same thing….)  One thing I made last year that we haven’t used up is pesto.  That’s because the recipe I made was great in a couple of respects, but nobody likes it except me.  Have you ever noticed that certain bloggers/cookbook authors have favorite ingredients they use again and again?  With Dreena Burton it’s lemon.  She loves to put lots of lemon in her recipes, and her pesto recipe (in Eat, Drink and Be Vegan) is a perfect example.  I like it because it has a light taste and it doesn’t immediately turn a ghastly dark color (must be all the lemon), but my family longs for the taste of a more traditional product.  Still, I needed a quick meal tonight and it was there…. and quite delicious with some steamed vegetables thrown into the mix!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That time of year….

  1. Anonymous says:

    I wish I had a freezer full of pesto instead of rhubarb. And if you get stuck using it up, I LOVE lemon. I have a tendency to put it in everything, too. It just makes things taste better. I’ll have to look for that recipe.

    • wingraclaire says:

      The recipe is hard to get to. It used to be on the Vegan Freaks website, but now I can’t find it. I downloaded it and have it in pdf form and can email it to you, or anyone who wants it. I own her other cookbooks, but not that one I think.

  2. Anonymous says:

    i have totally noticed the love of cooks w/ certain ingredients. there is one cooking class instructor that has to use lentils in everything. I swear she is just repackaging the same lentil recipe. ha ha ha!
    I don’t even know what my overused ingredient would be, but I’m sure that i have one or two.
    mmmm… pesto and broc. I love that combo.
    Andy also crabs about how much pesto I make/ love to put on things. About the only time he doesn’t complain is when I use it as a pizza base w/ pineapple or peas on top. I use this frozen crust which is really cruncy and cornmeal-y. http://www.vicolopizza.com/products.htm#
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

    • wingraclaire says:

      I never use pineapple on pizza but I do see a lot of people who order it…. and maybe I should try it. It just never seems like it would go with the other stuff. I should be more adventurous!

Leave a Reply

