Three Kinds of Sorry

The other day I posted about all the things we’d done in our second-to-last week of school.  I did, however, omit one episode of which I am NOT proud.  You know all that ice cream we made?  Well, our school secretary decided to clean out the freezer, and not knowing what was in my containers, dumped all except one (dairy) flavor.  I had, um, a hissy fit when I discovered it 1/2 hour before the party.  In the end, I realized that I had not exactly labeled the ice cream…. whoever cleans out that freezer?…. and it was really my fault for not doing so.  She was just cleaning the freezer.  I apologized to her, and she apologized to me, but I still feel bad about it.  I’ve been thinking about it all weekend.  At school, we tell the kids that there are three kinds of sorry.  The first is saying, "Sorry," which we all know may not sound sincere depending on who is saying it, and to whom!  The second is actually feeling sorry.  And the third is doing something to fix it.  This reminds me of a Jerry Seinfeld routine where he describes going to the florist and telling them what he did wrong, and they give him the flowers to fix it.  I decided to bake some cookies and also give her a card.  This will in no way absolve me, but it’s making me feel a little better….. I’ll keep you posted…

These are Double  Chocolate Almond Explosion Cookies from Vive le Vegan!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Three Kinds of Sorry

  1. Anonymous says:

    I think you are absolved. You’re one of the calmest and most considerate people I know, and the secretary probably knows that too. With all the stress at the end of school, and the big parent gathering, you had a moment of unfortunate stress-release. She can probably tell how bad you feel and forgives you, just as you forgive her for ditching all that ice cream! The cookies should seal the deal and you can both laugh about it. Seeing the humor in a situation is often the best way to diffuse it. Now, how can I get you to yell at me and make me cookies so I’ll forgive you?

  2. Anonymous says:

    I think the cookies will be a good gesture. even without them, people can sense when somebody is really sorry. I do the same thing, when I do something bad, I agonize over it for days – that should be the 4th kind of sorry.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

  3. wei_k says:

    That kind of cookie is so good!!! I remember when you made some for me, and also for me & Roya’s party last August.
    Also, you are a good person to do all that for the person. I probably would have just apologized and maybe given a card.

Leave a Reply

