School’s Out for the Summer!

OK; sing it with me…..
I’m sure my kids are enjoying their first taste of vacation!  As for me, I still have a week of cleaning and packing up my classroom, ordering supplies for next year, meeting with other teachers and staff, etc. etc. etc.  However, the pressure to produce a daily menu of hands-on, creative learning is off for the time being, and soon I’ll have six weeks of vacation!  (Well, that’s what I work the 60-hour weeks for, right?  So it all evens out.)

In our last week of school, we toured the state Capitol building and Wisconsin Veteran’s museum (photos unfortunately already deleted, but on school computer), celebrated "Fun Day," (photo below), and had a class potluck in addition to our final math, spelling, writing assignments.  Thursday night was Wingra’s graduation, in which I saw so many of my old students.  It’s really touching the way so many alumni return to see their younger friends give their speeches.  Of the ten graduating seniors, six had been in my class just a few years ago.  It was marvelous to see how they’ve grown up.  Many of the speeches were very emotional and all of us teachers were crying along with the parents.  Some of our grads have been at Wingra for nine years, and we’ve even known a few of them for longer because they were younger siblings of students.  So we are both happy and sad to end the year…. we get so very attached to our young ones!  Below you can see the legs of my students as they participate in a parachute game at Fun Day; in the background is the water slide. 

This evening I came home exhausted but ready to think outside the nightly homework routine.  On my way home, I stopped at the library to take out books for our upcoming VACATION, in which we will drive to Denver for an anniversary party and then spend the rest of the week camping somewhere in Colorado.  The somewhere is not set in stone, hence the need for a Colorado travel guide.  I also took out some young adult literature (recommended by a student) and a book of short stories by Roald Dahl.  How vacation-like!  

And tonight was a first – Papa often asks me, jokingly, whether I have photographed our dinner before I began eating it, because he knows I like to my pictures – but today he actually ASKED me to take the photo.  He was proud of the homegrown asparagus, shiitake mushrooms, and spinach (in salad, not pictured) in our simple dinner.  Notice I had already eaten some! 

The calendar may say summer officially begins on the solstice, but I say it starts right now!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to School’s Out for the Summer!

  1. Anonymous says:

    hahahaha… Alice Cooper and the Muppets, that’s hilarious. when are you going on vacation? We like camping too… do you use a tent or trailer?
    ~Felicity at thriftyliving.net

    • wingraclaire says:

      Tent. For years we did it with three kids and now it’s just us two so it is more relaxed. For instance, two years ago we spent a day hanging out in our campsite reading our books because they were too good to put down! This time we are going to Colorado for a family affair. More about that later….

  2. wei_k says:

    That looks delicious! And the photo from fun day is so brightly colored.
    You deserve vacation, that’s for sure.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Well, congratulations for making though another year of super-creative 60-hour weeks. Teachers not only DESERVE their summer break, they NEED it. The Colorado camping trip sounds great, and after you get back I hope you’ll find some time for a visit or two with us! (We’re in Seattle at the moment, scoping out the situation for next year.)

  4. Anonymous says:

    I feel I’ve been on a summer vacation from blogging and reading blogs. I’m such a slacker 🙂
    I never realized that teachers had to stick around after school let out. not fair. sounds like it’s time for a much needed break.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

    • wingraclaire says:

      We stay for one week after school for meetings, cleaning, etc. and then come in usually two weeks, but at least one week before. I’m going to be in and out all summer.

Leave a Reply

