Are We Living off the Fat of the Land Yet?

I am in the middle of a four-day-in-a-row eating-out binge, which is very unusual for me.  Yesterday my Zei Gezundt group  met at the Sommer House in Mount Horeb.  They come out once a year…. in the summer!  Because driving out in the winter is just too much!  ( I do it every day, but hey.)  I had the tofu-salad sandwich and it was OK; just grateful they have it at all.  Best thing lately is that all the soups are vegetarian, and two yesterday were vegan!

This evening we went to the annual membership meeting of the Willy Street Co-op and ate a Tofurkey brat with Andrea while waiting to see whether we won any door prizes.  (We didn’t.)

Tomorrow we’re going out to the Bistro where someone’s in line for a big tip if the service is good πŸ™‚  In that way, at least one kid can be with us on our anniversary.  And then on Saturday, we’re going to a friend’s home for dinner.  Come to think of it, we didn’t eat at home on Monday, unless you count a big bucket of popcorn while watching Cheri dinner!

Last week, though, we had local meals…. and here are some of the leftovers on Leftover Night the other night….

The mayo-free cole slaw I talked about last week, and there are some roasted potatoes there, and some salad with lettuce from my neighbor’s garden.  The green rice there has a sort of embarrassing story, and is delicious.  Embarrassing because I messed with the recipe so much.  I saw the recipe for Spinach Rice on Petitchef, which emails me a daily menu selected from peoples’ blogs.  Most of the dishes are things I wouldn’t make, but once in a while stuff looks good, and this was one of them.  My neighbor had given me a bag of her last garden spinach, with the warning to use it right away because it was probably not going to last long.  I had a busy night but wanted to make the above recipe…. however, realizing I didn’t have the time, I washed and steamed the spinach, pureed it in the food processor, and returned it to the pot, adding already cooked rice and some extra water.  Meanwhile, I sauteed onions, garlic, and as many of the spices on the recipe list as I had in my spice drawer (no chilies, but I did use hot pepper flakes).  I mixed that into the pot and simmered for a few minutes…. and it was fabulous.  I can only imagine the original is even better (and hotter).

On the weekend, Claudia scored us the last of Sutters Ridge’s strawberries.  We froze half of them for the dead of winter….

Claudia also gave us some kale, which we used in another hurry-up dinner.  It’s summer!  Why am I so rushed? Well, some days are still like that…. below is our default hurry-up dinner: Near East Lentil Pilaf, steamed greens, fried tofu.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Are We Living off the Fat of the Land Yet?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hey, Happy Anniversary! I hope you had a great (or at least good) dinner at the Bistro. I’ll bet the service was good. At any rate I’m sure it was better than the coop dinner.
    I don’t know, Claire, it seems you guys eat really well even when you don’t have time to cook. I’d like to come eat at your house!

    • wingraclaire says:

      Dinner at the Bistro was excellent….we got the one vegetarian thing on the menu πŸ™‚ And yes, the service was very good! Thanks…. we did have a good anniversary!

  2. Anonymous says:

    sounds like fun!
    I love it when mistakes turn out tasty. better than the kind that are so gross you have to laugh to get the bad taste out of your mouth πŸ™‚
    someday I will be as cool as you and freeze up my harvest. but first I have to produce a harvest…
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

  3. wei_k says:

    These pictures and the description of the food = delicious. I’m looking forward when I go home to cooking/eating with you again. πŸ™‚
    That spinach rice sounds interesting.
    And, the end of strawberry season already?! Where have I been? I guess it is the end of the summer almost…..

    • wingraclaire says:

      June = strawberries. July = black caps. And that’s the way of things…

      • wei_k says:

        Strawberries are so expensive here now, so I haven’t had any since they were cheap (November through March?).
        And no black caps… though for a brief time I saw blackberries sold, but didn’t get in on buying them.
        Guess we’re in different hemispheres.
        (“And that’s the way it is.”)

  4. Anonymous says:

    Mmmm, those colourful plates of food look so yummy. We had tons of strawberries, but only froze a few for making wine. One can never have enough strawberries, IMO.
    ~Felicity at thriftyliving.net

Leave a Reply

