The Summer is Greening Up

Our garden is suddenly taking off.  Yesterday, we had lots of chard and beet green thinnings to ponder, and fortunately Andrea had posted this recipe AND we had most of the ingredients! We used buckwheat soba instead of udon, and regular tomatoes for grape, but otherwise we had everything… and it was marvelous.  One of those dishes you just can’t stop eating!

On Saturday, we had a mini-North Farm Cooperative reunion at Steve and Marina’s house.  We had a great time listening to the former Farmers reminisce about the good old (or bad) days, and the food was great.  We were challenged to bring something leftover from North Farm (a natural foods distributor in the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s), and my contribution was wild rice.  (Below are the leftovers we had on Sunday, with added kale and served with our first string beans!)  The best part of our visit was Steve and Marina’s urban homestead, where they do more than we do on our 15 acres!  Check out their blog…. which I think they should update, don’t you?

Tomorrow I’ll post the recipe for Roya’s Wisdom-Teeth-Extraction-Recuperation Chocolate Pudding.  Yesterday she had SIX impacted wisdom teeth removed.  Whatever happened to the theory that as humans evolve and our mouths are smaller, we are phasing out those extra teeth?  Luckily everything went fine and she is at home, on drugs 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Summer is Greening Up

  1. Anonymous says:

    Glad to hear that Roya is doing well. I’ve been thinking of her and was just about to send an email asking how she was.
    Also glad to hear you liked the chard recipe. I debated whether to use udon or buckwheat and finally chose udon, though it was a hard choice, since I like both. The third contender was quinoa spaghetti but that would have required a trip to the store, and that wasn’t going to happen.
    You don’t actually have NF leftovers, do you? We might, I’m embarrassed to say. Wish I could have heard the NF stories. As an ex-member, I have a few of my own!!! Whoa.

  2. Anonymous says:

    SIX impacted wisdom teeth? I thought most people only had four of those. Not fun.
    Thanks for the link to Steve & Marina’s blog… I’ll be bookmarking that one.
    You have 15 acres?? Oh, I am sooo jealous. Here 15 acres with a house would go for around £600 to £700,000…. around a million dollars. A tad out of reach for us.
    ~Felicity at thriftyliving.net

    • wingraclaire says:

      Wow! I think Europe is more crowded than here. When we bought this land + decrepit 100-year-old farmhouse 16 years ago, it was less than $100,000, and so we were very lucky! Most of our acreage is older fields or woods, but still a very big yard to mow! I think we need a prairie, or llamas…

      • Anonymous says:

        England is especially expensive because it is a small, crowded island, hence the stratospheric property prices. Other places in Europe, like France or Spain, are much more reasonably priced.
        I would love to own a llama 😀
        ~Felicity

  3. wei_k says:

    Those pictures are vibrant, and the food looks delicious.

  4. Anonymous says:

    how is it possible to have 6 wisdom teeth? I had 0. that’s my one genetic boon, yay for me. I would rather have breathing under water or perhaps flying.
    good thing for her that you make ice cream.
    wisdom teeth removal is how my sister learned to hate yogurt. I wonder if she still does.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

