Taking advantage of vacation…..

These are the last few days of vacation at home.  Starting Monday, I’ll be taking a class (all day, all week).  The week after that, I’ll start three weeks of continuous travel, which all sounded good at the time….so if it looks like I’m going nuts cooking, there are good reasons for it.  One, I sort of have the time.  (Right.  I’m really supposed to be doing homework for my first class.) (But if I cook a lot now I’ll have a clear conscience next week when I’m eating sweet corn from a roadside stand and grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches for dinner….) Two, we have a lot of two or three things coming out of the garden.  Three, I was just informed that I am low in potassium, and am supposed to be eating foods rich in that substance.  So if you want something specific, sometimes you just have to cook it yourself!

Yesterday I was trying to think of something novel to do with the beans, and I remembered Aunt Rose making "mock chopped liver" using green beans.  I didn’t have a recipe, so I looked at Andrea’s, but it called for mushrooms, which I didn’t have, and no beans, which I did have.  So I found a recipe at vegfamily that used this important ingredient, and I made some.  It’s ok, but Andrea’s is better.   We also have a lot of cilantro, which is darn near parsley, and it made me think of what I really wanted, which was hummous.  So I cooked some chickpeas and made that too.  Of course, if you have hummous you need pita, and I’d been wanting to try this recipe…. I used the bread machine to make the dough, so it was actually pretty easy.  I had never done it before, and I thought it was super cool the way they puffed up in the oven! I used part white whole wheat flour in the recipe.

That’s the "mock chopped liver" on the right.  Can’t we think of something else to call it? "Spread?"

Because I had to use half a package of tempeh for the spread, I fried up the rest, so for dinner we had pita with tempeh, hummous, "spread," and vegetables.  I was tired…but anything to avoid actually working on something… and it was good!  (Oh, for the record, I did do a bunch of homework, vacuumed, did laundry and tutored the neighbor girl too.)

Today I still had tons of chickpeas left, and cilantro, and beans.  So bean salad was a natural fit.  Also, it seems eggplant, parsley and turmeric are all high in potassium, so guess what was for dinner……?

I swear, in Hong Kong I’m going to eat out every meal, right? 

This afternoon and evening we had more thunderstorms.  There was even a tornado to the west of us.  Check out this sunset-over-the-valley scene, in which the sky was clearing to the west and shed some light on the treetops, but the rest of it all was dark and stormy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Taking advantage of vacation…..

  1. wei_k says:

    No one can say you don’t do a lot!
    And, beautiful pics, again…delicious-looking food.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Why don’t we call it veggie paté, possibly subbing the main ingredient for “veggie.” I used to make it with string beans and walnuts which is really delicious.
    It’s been a long time since I’ve made pita but I still remember the exciting part where they puffed up just like they were supposed to!
    Everything looks so good. I’m not even a big fan of peas but they look good to me too.
    Bananas have lots of potassium. My mother used to eat one every day.

  3. That Chickpea Salad looks insanely good. As does the Curry. YUMMERS!
    Have fun traveling – I’ve no doubt you’ll enjoy it.
    🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    homemade pita bread? you are amazing!
    maybe call it the over used uber vague “veg pate”.
    the peas look really good. makes me think of curry for some reason.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

    • wingraclaire says:

      The pita bread was better than any I have eaten, or at least as good. Can’t wait until I have the time to make it again. Actually, right now would be a good time, with garden vegetables! But instead, I bought some….

Leave a Reply

