What’s for dinner? “The Garden!”

This evening my friend and I had the same dinner, different menu: "The garden."  When we compared notes on the phone, we had each made roadside-stand-purchased sweet corn, and then the rest was from the garden.  Below, you’ll see that we had a refined-carb-free dinner of sweet corn, beets, beet greens sauteed with onion (also from the garden), and broccoli.  We’re not on a diet; there just wasn’t time to make rice also.  But then Claudia suggested putting stuff in a pita, which of course had not occurred to me…..

The previous evening, in another attempt to use as much garden produce as possible in one meal, I made chili with corn, zucchini, onion yellow wax beans, carrots and a few chard stems.  Tomatoes and peppers, which grow in any normal person’s gardens, are not growing for us this year.  Therefore, I also used a can of diced tomatoes with chilies.

So…. we are back from all our travels.  I wanted to post something snappy like "Planes, trains, automobiles, ferries, doble-decker buses, light rail, commuter train, minibus, feet……" but frankly have been too busy.  But to update, I did finish both my classes by the deadline.  Then I spent three weeks traveling nonstop.  First I went to Massachusetts and Rhode Island, and after a one-day turnaround I went to Hong Kong.  I had a whole 1 1/2 days after I returned to get ready for a weekend drive up to Minneapolis to deposit my youngest daughter in college, and the next day I went back to work.  Whew!  So I have a zillion photos from all that, and if I actually dig out from under everything, I promise to post them, and then not to be such a stranger…. my next challenge is to get my classroom ready for the first day of school – on Monday, and the clock is ticking!

Well, I just can’t resist one photo…. here’s one of the funnist foods I didn’t eat on THIS trip: why, it’s Hello Kitty! processed cheese snacks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s for dinner? “The Garden!”

  1. wei_k says:

    I am sitting here drinking Nescafe (from powder) and Ovaltine (from powder), and eating packaged bread. hmmm.
    Taiwan has a lot of good food, but I need to leave the apartment to get to it! (which I’ll do after all this internet shtuff.)
    Your dinner looks & sounds delicious. ❤

  2. Anonymous says:

    i really need to get some corn. hmmm… why do I always get so hungry when I ready your blog?
    that is a lot of travelling. I love rhode island. it’s so much fun there. sounds like you had some fun and it’s going to take a bit to wind down.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

    • wingraclaire says:

      Rhode Island was great – they have something new (in the last ten years or so) called “Waterfire” where they literally build fires in some kind of above-water firepit, and people (who pay money) can cruise around on gondolas or other boats, and music is piped in… we were on the shore with the rest of the populace, and it was wonderful.

Leave a Reply

