More garden for dinner…..

This blog is pitiful, but we have been eating well.  By the time I have picked, cleaned, cooked, (photographed) and eaten the food, it’s bedtime!  But here is a sampling of what our garden, and our friends’ gardens, have been giving us for dinner……….

Stir-fried zucchini, chard, onions, and peppers in peanut sauce, served on buckwheat soba noodles,

Onions, serrano peppers, tomatoes and zucchini with black beans (served over rice),

Fresh tomato sauce with basil (what? no zucchini?) for pasta; we also added steamed tofu chunks,

We have also made (and frozen) pesto, and frozen beans.

I have made zucchini bread, lasagna, stir-fry, and more.  Last night we had the ultimate in zucchini cuisine, the Mock Apple Pie.  (The "nobody can tell the difference" claim in the recipe, given to my husband by a work mate, pretty much clinched my decision to make it.)  (In fact, I COULD tell the difference, and I didn’t bother peeling the zucchini because I figured we weren’t going to fool anyone, and it still tasted good. Doesn’t anything with lots of sugar and fat taste good?  The recipe called for butter and I used EB sticks.  I also halved the recipe.  You can only take this kind of thing so far.)  

Coralee’s Mock Apple Pie

Crust:
4 cups flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
2 cups sugar
3 sticks butter

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl.  Cut in butter until crumbly.  Pat half of mixture in the bottom of a 9 x 13 inch pan or two pie tins.  Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.

Filling:
8 cups zucchini, peeled and sliced (it should be younger, smaller zucchini, not the big spongy kind)
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Cook the zucchini in 2/3 cup lemon juice until tender.  Add the cinnamon and nutmeg.  Simmer one minute and then add 1/2 cup of the crust mixture.  Let cool and thicken for a bit.

When filling is cool, spread on crust in pan.  Add 1 tsp. cinnamon to remaining crust and sprinkle across the top.  Bake at 375 degrees for 40 minutes.  Serve warm or cool.  Tastes like apple pie. No one knows the difference.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More garden for dinner…..

  1. Anonymous says:

    Just the fact that I know it’s zucchini would be enough to end the deal. And knowing how much fat and sugar are included, would be more than enough! Still, if YOU made it I would taste it! I MISS my garden. Waaa.

  2. wei_k says:

    This sounds really gross!! But on the other hand, I KNOW that zucchini bread is delicious, so if I had the chance to try it, of course I would. And especially for the “not knowing the difference” factor.
    Pictures look delicious. I miss cooking.

Leave a Reply

