How humble can you get?

If  you’ve ever tried something new, something so out of your comfort zone that it may as well be on Mars, then you might be able to guess how I felt this evening in my first Zumba class.  I decided to do it because a) I really need the exercise, b) It’s offered in my town, c) It looked like fun.   I’m glad to be there, but boy, is the learning curve steep!  Between the moves, the music, the steps, and the directions, I was totally out of my element. It reminds me why I never dance. (I could break something!) But it was all women my age, and they were all very nice, and I’m going to make a commitment to going… after all, winter is coming!  The sun has been setting earlier and earlier (it’s the equinox today!), and it rained all day today, and I think my outdoor fitness plan (taking daily walks) is getting iffier and iffier.  So we’ll see how long it takes until I am dancing with the stars… or at least learning a few steps!  And I think the point is to have fun.

So I rushed home early enough to make and eat dinner before dashing out to said class.  I was really in the mood for tomato soup, and thanks to our garden and Claudia’s, we have some big, ripe tomatoes.  We also have the oft-mentioned zucchini, onions, basil and chard.  How could we not have a great meal with all that?  

Here’s how I made it…. I sauteed onion, garlic and chard stems in olive oil, then added some serrano pepper and chopped tomato.  I blended some more tomato chunks with some zucchini (peeled, so it wouldn’t be a green mess, but add some creaminess) and added it to the pot.  Then I added some tender, small zucchini  slices and fresh basil, and some parsley.  Finally, I added some cooked brown rice. It was very delicious.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How humble can you get?

  1. Ooooh go Zumba!!! What a great way to keep fit!
    I’m a bit behind on my blogging and have a LOT to catch up with (3 weeks holiday does that). Didn’t want you to think I’d forgotten about you.
    πŸ™‚
    It’s just insane how quick this year has gone by isn’t it!

    • wingraclaire says:

      In fact, I am feeling guilty about YOU. I went to Hong Kong and in three supermarkets I never found mushy peas! There was a fourth one (the one with the Hello Kitty cheese snacks) where I’m sure they would have had some but I forgot to look, interested as I was in a display and demo of German cuisine πŸ™‚ It was so funny that where I live is so German, but to the HKers it was very exotic. But I feel I’ve let you down….. sorry!!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    The soup sounds really delicious – perfect for a rainy day – and I see you guys had a LOT of rain.
    Zumba? Wow, Claire, I’m impressed. I’ll have to look into this.

Leave a Reply

