Like a Who in Whoville

Just because I haven’t been posting, doesn’t mean I don’t exist šŸ™‚

In the past few weeks, I’ve had fairly constant company (K is back!), social engagements, parent-teacher conferences, homework, etc. etc. etc. Also, a very slow internet connection that makes me feel like I have dial-up. But am I complaining about all that? Heck, no! I am, however, complaining that today was partly sunny, 50 degrees F, and I looked at it through the window as gunshot echoed across the valley…. it’s the first day of hunting season, grrrrrr…… So K and I went to the gym and "ran" on the elliptical.

What else have we been doing? Well, cooking a lot……we still have food from the garden stored in and around the house, and I do mean stored! An extra refrigerator would work pretty well but as it is we are taking up a whole drawer just for carrots:

Onions are hanging in bags in the basement, and we have beets in the garage. Here is a carrot-beet-onion salad made with the dressing for Polish Tomatoes from the Vegetarian Epicure. Turns out to work super-well with beets; I think I’ll make it for Thanksgiving!


K baked an apple pie:

We made portobella-squash-quinoa stew:

Cauliflower curry, and another vegetable curry, and dal (not pictured):

This evening I made pizza for the first time in awhile. Long-time readers of this blog (all four of you) will recall I am always whining about vegan cheese and am never satisfied with the brands I try. Still, every six months or so finds me giving in and buying something new to give it a chance. This time I tried Teese for the first time, and it was pretty good on a pizza — I was surprised! No photo, because by the time it was done, we were very hungry.

Another thing – I’m spending soooooo much time on school work I feel I "take the office home" more than usual lately. My latest math unit is more than multiplication and division, as I’m trying to give them some real-world context and we have "bitten off" almost more than we can chew. I asked a student what, in her opinion, was a very important issue that we could study, and she said "World Hunger." So it’s a very timely issue, and we are spending a lot of time with curriculum from the United Nations Food Programme. Let me tell you, by the time you figure out how much someone can eat when they earn $1.00 per day, it kind of takes the joy out of eating lunch, or cooking dinner, etc. If you know what I mean….. And the thng is, most of the kids are really getting it about the starving people, etc., but they are still able to let go of it at recess time, whereas I am not.

Because I have K at home, I’m doing a lot more socially. A few weeks ago, we went to the Madison Area Vegetarian Meetup’s latest meal, at Bunky’s Cafe in Madison. (in picture # 14, I’m on the left.) The appetizers were awesome, although the main dish was lacking. Still, I’d go again.

And last weekend we went to a Couchsurfing potluck where all the food was vegetarian and most was vegan. I met a whole bunch of new people, and we had a great time.

So all in all, life is super full, I am basically fine, and my computer sucks. I look forward to some great Thanksgiving food and seeing friends, but missing friends who moved away šŸ˜¦

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Like a Who in Whoville

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sounds like your life has been really full and fun lately. I’m interested in the couchsurfing – it sounds so cool. Have a great Thanksgiving – I’m fondly remembering last Thanksgiving and how much fun it was.
    Carl Rogers said that to be truly helpful, you must be able to keep yourself separate from other’s suffering. You must be understanding and empathetic, but if you get sucked into the pain, you will become less able to help. I try to remember this though I agree it’s hard.
    Hmmm. Maybe I need K here for a while so I can become more active socially. šŸ™‚

  2. Mmmmm yummy yummy looking food! I make a wicked carrot and beetroot salad – the two go together so well don’t they!
    (who’s K?)

  3. wei_k says:

    ooh, beautiful pics. I almost could forget I already was there for it and ate it too. šŸ™‚
    We should make the quinoa/mushroom stew again.

Leave a Reply

