Wow!

A long time ago, so long that my memories are somewhat faded…. I said "sure thing" to Bethany regarding a P.I.F. gift.  I think the deal was, I’d be making a handcrafted gift for a fellow blogger, and at some point I would also receive one from her.  Well, guess who has kept up her end of the bargain??????  Not me…. yet!  But today I got a package in the mail from Bethany, and inside was this incredible, full-color, ribbon-bound 2010 calendar!!!!!  (Shown here modeled by the daughter who was having fun looking at all the cute photos.)

If you’ve ever read Bethany’s blog posts, you know that they are pretty evenly divided between food and pets, and over the past year or so I’ve come to know those pets by name.  So it’s pretty cool to have a different pet featured on each page of the calendar!  Thanks, Bethany!  And now it is my turn…..

On a different note, cooking has still been a challenge.  I mean, we are doing fine, but without an oven we’re a little limited.  The guy who ordered the part for our oven was sympathetic when he observed that this was cramping my style — not able to cook my Christmas ham or anything!  I didn’t have the heart to tell him he was wrong on a) Christmas, and b) the ham, because he was so nice about it!  Anyway, this IS my vacation, and I WOULD be baking cookies, etc….. but after tomorrow, when we’ll pay half the cost of a new stove (do not get me started…..) I should have  a working oven, and then the fun can begin… until I have to go back to school on Monday 🙂  In the meantime, I baked bread in the bread machine (not pictured) to go with this stew made from onions, potatoes, diced seitan, mushrooms, celery, carrots, garlic, peas, herbs, and possibly other stuff I can’t remember.  Oh yeah, some not-chicken broth powder, nutritional yeast, and beer.  We have a bunch of flat beer leftover from someone’s party, and I had this great idea to make beer bread (that’s what I made in the bread machine) and "beer-cheese soup," and I did, and we still have some mighty flat beer.  The stew was so delicious, I might just have to make some more!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wow!

  1. Anonymous says:

    glad you liked the calendar!
    mmmm…. beer and “cheese” in soup form. and beer in bread form.
    http://sdcat.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

