More thoughts of those who have passed….

So yesterday would have been my brother’s 49th birthday.  Today at school I was surprised by a "birthday" treat from a co-worker.  I’d forgotten that I list my "school birthday" as January 18th, which started to remember him and be a sort of half-birthday.  The treat was awesome: two kinds of hummus (chickpea/basil and spicy black bean), rice crackers and raw vegetables for dipping, and then some chocolate chip cookies, all completely vegan.  How thoughtful!  And when people would wish me a happy birthday, I’d say, "It’s my brother’s birthday," which allowed me to think of him all day.

And then today I heard about someone else I loved, although I’d never met personally….. an artist whose record I probably wore out from playing over and over and over again:

Kate McGarrigle died yesterday of cancer.  To read more about her and listen to her work, click here.

In food news, last night it was Moosewood Cookbook’s Gypsy Soup, which is without question the finest soup on Earth.  We have recently decided to make soup as often as we possibly can.  In lieu of a Hawaiian vacation or whatever, because we need winter-coping strategies!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More thoughts of those who have passed….

  1. Anonymous says:

    Yes, I read about Kate McGarrigle in the paper. it’s so sad. Is the Gypsy Soup in the first original Moosewood Cookbook that Beth gave me a long time ago? luv anty

  2. Anonymous says:

    Jeffrey’s BD….so good to remember him.
    Yes, I read about Kate McGarrigle in the paper. it’s so sad. Is the Gypsy Soup in the first original Moosewood Cookbook that Beth gave me a long time ago? luv anty

  3. wei_k says:

    I remember when you took that CD out of the library. and I remember uncle Jeff too, of course. I was glad to read your post and think of him.

Leave a Reply

