A trip to Hong Kong

On Thursday we went out to dinner at a restaurant formerly known as the Hong Kong Cafe, now Lee’s Garden.  It had just been reviewed glowingly, so we decided to give it another try, as it is either under new management or has had some other change aside from the name.  My husband has just been enduring one of the worst colds ever, which caused him to miss a few days of work and to feel horrible for at least a week, and so the vegetarian soup was definitely in order.  We also got the Governor’s Tofu, which was delicious.  But the highlight of the trip was getting the steamed dumplings, which I dumped into my soup and topped with a spoonful of the dipping sauce, and it was a nice little reminder of how I ate them in Hong Kong. 

The reason we were eating out on a weeknight (oooh, how decadent!) was that I had won tickets to see A Prairie Home Companion, streaming live from St. Paul in HD to a local movie theater!  It was so awesome to see the actors I’ve listened to over the years, and especially to see how they do the sound effects!  In all, it was a wonderful evening.

If it weren’t my bedtime, I’d be oohing and aahing about the Honest Scrap Award I just got from Andrea…. and telling all…. at least, ten honest things!  Go and read what Andrea has to say about herself, right now!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A trip to Hong Kong

  1. Congrats on your award.
    And how cool you won tickets! Sounds like you had a really good night.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Aaron used to be the biggest fan of the governor’s tofu at Hong Kong Cafe. I wonder who’s running the place now.
    You must really like Prairie Home Companion if it got you out on a week night! And poor Alan – I hope he’s feeling better. I can’t imagine him being sick enough to take time off from work.

  3. wei_k says:

    mmm, dumplings in soup!! sounds yum. I’m glad you liked it enough in HK to replicate it in the US. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

