I was lucky – my cold was shorter, and I coughed less, but I was still verrrrrrrry tired, and am even today.  We had a busy week nonetheless, and I’m very happy it’s the weekend!

On Tuesday, I took the class on a field trip to the UW Primate Research Lab.  Anyone who’s ever taken Psych 101 will remember the famous study that proved how important mother-child attachment was in a developing infant. (Which was a big duh if you ask me, but nobody did….)  If you need a refresher, check it out here.  At school, our new unit is Primates, and I wanted to kick it off with something memorable….. I didn’t tell the kids my own opinions, and wanted them to see it with an open mind, and in truth they were 99% won over by the baby marmosets.  Really, who couldn’t fall for a face like this?  (That’s the dad.  The baby is the lump on its upper back, and the little striped tail hanging down is the clue!)
 
Still, my kids weren’t born yesterday, and even though they were glad to hear that because of the animal research and testing the Primate Lab does, 65 million people worldwide are living with AIDS, not dying from it, it still made them very sad to think about people infecting, and then killing, the monkeys.  In the coming week, we plan to present them with other points of view and ask them to form some fair and balanced opinions of their own!  Jane Goodall’s My Life With the Chimpanzees is written for kids their age, and she makes such an impassioned case against animal testing, I really won’t have to say a thing. 
 

In other news, yesterday when I came home exhausted and sniffly, someone had made a big pot of onion soup for dinner (with garlic in it), and what could be better than that?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Anonymous says:

    Glad to hear you’re on the mend.
    That should be an interesting start to the primate unit! I’d love to eavesdrop on the resulting conversation. Jordan and I once joined a march against the Primate Center.

    • wingraclaire says:

      I asked my husband to please not protest outside while we were there 🙂 The place is security locked, partly because of animal rights activists (that’s what she told the kids!).

  2. wei_k says:

    aww, so cute!! Who could want to infect such an animal with AIDS?!? I really should read Jane Goodall’s book too someday, since I never have.
    you do so many cool things with your students!

Leave a Reply

