Dinner with the traitor was excellent

Last week (hmmmmmm….. two weeks ago by now!) we took our son out to dinner for his 22nd birthday.  It was his golden birthday, like he cared!  Since it was his choice, we went to Fugu Restaurant in Madison, which is new.  Despite the Japanese name, it’s an "Asian Fusion" place with lots of Thai and Chinese dishes.  It”s not vegetarian, but they had lots of vegetarian stuff for us.  The birthday boy ordered something with pork (*sigh*).  (Is this how they rebel? 21 years of vegetarianism…. well, we did the best we could….)

I ordered some spicy eggplant in garlic sauce, which could have been the best I’ve ever eaten.  And seaweed salad, which was absolutely awesome!!!  I came home wanting to make it myself, so I did a little online research, and I see that Diet, Dessert and Dogs has a recipe,  and so does this site, although the salad I had contained more than wakame, and one from a vegan forum, and so as you can see, I am collecting some recipes here!

I’ve been writing conference reportrs all week and weekend in advance of parent-teacher conferences coming up.  And my computer is drenched in molasses, or why else would it run so slowly?  And my camera is lame.  But otherwise we are still here and fine 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dinner with the traitor was excellent

  1. Anonymous says:

    Fugu sounds pretty great. Maybe we can go there when we come to Madison this summer. (No, I don’t know if we’re coming to visit or to live.)
    I hope your conferences go well. I always found mine were best when I said really nice things about the kids. 🙂
    We made wakame salad in our Japanese cooking class. Wakame is also really good in soup, added near the end of cooking. I’ll send you the salad recipe.

  2. wei_k says:

    Elaine here pulled a chart out of her cupboard that she’d been given from a health store, about eating 80% alkaline // 20% acidic for best ‘health and happiness.’ (at least that’s their take on how one ought to eat.) Seaweed is waaaay alkaline, so when I saw it, I thought of you!
    There are some surprises, though– like lemons and pickles are listed as very alkaline because of the residue it leaves in your body (so it says), rather than the whole pH value of the foods, which would otherwise seem definitely acidic!! So go figure, eh?
    p.s. that’s a funny blog header line you’ve got.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for the link–and the links to those other two (the Japanese salad on the forum sounds nice too). Good luck with all those student-teacher conferences! –Ricki 🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    He could change his mind at some point, he’s still young. not that older people don’t change their minds (I have been known to).
    I love seaweed salad, especially if it has hijiki in it. but even if it doesn’t, I’m still all over it. And spicy eggplant – now I’m really hungry. time to grub for leftovers…

Leave a Reply

